Amaury Lavernhe: geez, he's world bodyboarding champion!

Amaury Lavernhe is the 2010 IBA World Tour Bodyboarding champion.

The pro bodyboarder from the Reunion Island conquered the Sintra Portugal Pro 2010, after defeating Guillermo Cobo in the final heat.

The 3-4 foot waves of Praia Grande were enough to greet everyone in the beach with a great show of bodyboarding. Lavernhe ended the final minutes surfing with just one fin. It is the first time a French bodyboarder claims the world bodyboarding title.

"I didn't believe it could be possible to win the title this year", said Amaury Lavernhe right after the final. Watch how he felt after claiming the world bodyboarding title.

Read more ...

Azurara, Vila do Conde, Portugal: congratulations Zoltan Balogh

An incredible bodyboarding photo has conquered the "Travel's 2010 Photo Contest" by The Washington Post.

The brilliant image was captured by Zoltan Balogh, from Budapest, in Azurara Beach, in Vila do Conde, in the North of Portugal.

Balogh was on holiday along the Portuguese coast with his mother when a bodyboarder crossed the path of the sun.

More than 1,600 photos were sent for this contest.

Zoltan Balogh captured this image with a Konica Minolta 7D.

Sintra Portugal Pro 2010: there's always the tube...

The third day at the Sintra Portugal Pro started in fine fashion with a solid 4 feet swell creating some sweet peaks with loads of scoring potential.

First up were the trials of the women and the girls enjoyed the open-faced waves with plenty of power. Adriana Santiago (Portugal) and Miya Inoue (Japan) revelled in the conditions whilst Irelands Ashleigh Smith showed plenty of form with strong combo’s.

The Men were up next and the day was shaping up as a classic day of competition when former world champion Damian King dazzled the crowd with some big moves in heat 1.

“Its actually pretty fun out there” said Kingy. “It’s a good bodyboarding wave when its over 3 feet”.

Tom Rigby (Aust) Roberto Bruno & Helliton Loureiro(Brazil) along with Tiago Silva (Portugal) all stood out with heat wins when out of the blue came a fog that blanketed the contest site for almost 5 hours.

Heat 7 was only 6 minutes old and had to be finished late in the afternoon

When the heat finally resumed Irelands Shane Meehan proved he is the real deal with one of the best two wave combinations of the day.

“The Irish are doing Ok I guess” said Meehan. “For a nation with just a handful of hardcore bodyboarders the crew are hanging in there against some big names”.

Jones Russell (Australia) and Benat Elosua (Spain) rounded off an entertaining but frustrating round before the second round of the girls snuck in under the dying light.

Joanna Schenker (Germany) Nicole Fleming (Australia) and Alexandra Rinder (Spain) light-up the line-up before organizers decided to call it a day.

All in all it was a frustrating day with only 13 heats being surfed.

There is another spike in wave height expected leading into the weekend and with all of the top seeds in all divisions yet to hit the water the best is yet to come.

Competitors are to meet at 7.30am for an 8am start tomorrow.