Sacha Specker

Central Kwa-Zulu Natal raise the "Fishman Trophy" yet again as Western Province bodyboarder, Sacha Specker, makes history by claiming both the Pro and Drop Knee titles in spectacular fashion at the Reef SA Bodyboarding Championships.

Some are saying that the final day should be forever known as the "Sacha Specker Show" (try say that fast 10 times). One of the cleanest, calmest mornings greeted the competitors on the final morning of the Reef SA Championships 2009, but it didn't remain serene for long because Champions needed to be crowned it and was down to the business of all-out aquatic warfare.

Sacha Specker (WP), started the Drop Knee final, one of the craziest finals I have ever seen, like a man possessed blasting a huge floater off a big closeout section forcing the other competitors to play catch up from the start. Warren Canepa (EP) sat slightly further down the beach and waited for the clean right handers, unfortunately he couldn't find the waves to match Sacha and placed fourth overall. Wayne Du Preez (CKZN) had consistent rides throughout the final getting longer rides that edged up his scores. Vaughn Harris (BOL) had a smooth fast racing barrel section with a big forehand floater off the end section that put pressure back on Sacha.

Sacha responded with what must be said was the DK move of the contest! He took off on a bigger set wave, raced down into the inside bowl and blasted... uumm, I'm not sure what to call it... a huge sliding 180 gouge floater thing! The crowd on the beach couldn't believe what they had witnessed and applauded Sacha's efforts. Sacha was met on the beach by his Western Province team and congratulated him on his amazing win. Vaughn Harris placed second, Wayne Du Preez third and Warren Canepa fourth.

The Pro final consisted of Sacha Specker (WP), Mark McCarthy (NKZN), Adam Waites (CKZN) and Jonathan Oliff (CKZN). Sacha Specker wasted no time and took off on a clean left hander almost on the siren and boosted a huge ARS that the crowd went wild on. Adam Waites used his consistent technique of choosing good waves to roll and flip on. McCarthy struck back by busting a rib cracking ARS on a big closeout. Jonathan Oliff quietly snuck into contention with a neat barrel and a solid flip. Sacha wasn't going to be left out and believed that this year's title was his for the taking. His plan must have been to go bigger and better than everyone else in the contest and launched a massive backflip into the flats! Once again the crowds on the beach couldn't believe what just happened. Sacha could do no wrong in the final and walked away the Reef SA Champs Pro Champion for 2009. Jonathan Oliff, Mark McCarthy and Adam Waites filled the remaining podium placings.

Read more ...

Reinhardt du Toit

Day 4 began exactly like all the other days, getting up extremely early and starting the contest in the freezing cold! The venue for day 4 was again at the bone crunching beach break of "Famous Last Words". The swell was predicted to drop, but when we arrived we found the sight of solid 3-4ft waves yet again! The wind was expected to blow very hard side shore from mid morning, but was light offshore and looking good.

The pro Quarter finals were first in. The low tide was making things tricky with loads of rips and double ups. The riders that made it through into tomorrows Semi's are: Defending Pro Champ, Mark McCarthy (NKZN), Iain Campbell (CKZN), Jonathan Oliff (CKZN), David Lee (SKZN), Adam Waites (CKZN), Terence Pieters (SKZN), Sacha Specker (WP) and Vaughn Harris (BOL).

The conditions started to improve for the men's and junior Quarter finals.
The men's had heaving conditions with 2 leashes snapping in one heat. The riders in the semi finals are: Wayne Beekman (SKZN), Jarryd Van Daalen (SKZN), Jonathan De Lauwere (EP), Ruan De Bruin (WP), Jeffery Davies (SKZN),Rayner Venter (SKZN) and Lennie Muller (NKZN).

Marc Webster (BOL), absolutely blew the competition away in his juniors Semi final heat, busting a huge flip on one wave and a massive invert on another. Storm Prestwick (SKZN) also won his semi final heat. Joining them in tomorrows final are Adam Waites (CKZN), and defending SA Junior Champ, David Lilenfeld (WP).

Tristan Roberts (BOL), was again a huge standout in the boys division. Landing a ARS (Air Roll Spin) and backing it up with a cleanly executed roll. Other standouts were Steven Du Preez (CKZN), Murray Van Vuuren (EP) and Robbie Waites (CKZN).

The expected wind started to show its ugly head and the word on the street was that Farmer Burgers was looking very contestable. The whole contest went mobile and carted off to the break to run the ladies heats.

Read more ...

Vaugh Harris

Day 3 started out as cold as ever. The swell had dropped off considerably and the call was made to meet at the heaving beachbreak of "Famous Last Words". Arriving in the early morning and walking across the freezing sand to check the swell, my feet got so numb that I couldn't feel a thing, infact there were 4 devil thorns stuck into my toe and I couldn't even feel them!

The swell was a clean punchy 3-5ft, breaking close to shore making it the ideal venue for judges and spectators.

The pros were first to paddle out and the first heat of the day saw big moves being dealt out by Sacha Specker (WP), Vaughn Harris (BOL) and Duart McClean (EP). Other pros that scored highly were Bradley Moys (SKZN), Adam Waites (CKZN), Rheinhardt Du Toit (NKZN) and Warren Canepa (EP), who was the only pro rider to score two 300% 's in both his first and second rounds.

By the time the juniors entered the water the wind was on the increase and was going light side-shore, the waves continued to pour in and the guys went all out in their quarter final heats. The riders that advanced through to the semis were Storm Prestwich (SKZN), Cole Dyer (CKZN), Adam Waites (CKZN), Aden Kleve (WP), David Lillienfeld (WP), Bradley Moys (SKZN), Marc Webster (BOL) and Terence Pieters (SKZN).

The men's round 2 heats were held in some testing conditions with wave knowledge playing a big part in wave selection. Martin Ras (BOL), Jamie Higgins (WP), Jaryd Van Daalen (SKZN) and Lennie Muller (NKZN) won their respective round 2 heats.

Read more ...