IBA Pipeline Pro

The first event of the 2010 IBA World Tour event has been confirmed at Pipe during the waiting period for the Men's event.

Entries are limited to the first 34 riders that confirm. The event will be a half day competition and will follow the Bodysurfing event.

Dave Hubbard (current World Champion) is pumped about the concept.

"I am so stoked that the event has come about", said the champ. "Its going to be webcast to the world and we will have some serious talent on hand".

The entries will fill fast so please get them in asap.

Lydia Ward counterattacked the shark

Lydia Ward, a 14-year-old New Zealand bodyboarder, escaped a shark attack at Oreti Beach, Invercargill.

The teenager beat the shark on the head with the bodyboard until the animal stopped biting her wetsuit. Although the shark's teeth got to the skin, Lydia Ward was not severely injured.

It is estimated that the shark was 1,5 metres long. Watch her testimonial.

Learn more about sharks.

2010 BIA Tour

Salt Creek beach in Dana Point was the site of the BIA National Championship Bodyboard tour season opener with a field of 75 riders turning out competed in the first of 7 Pro/Am Bodyboard competitions this year.

$1000.00 in cash awarded to the Pro body boarders and an additional $3,000 in prizes and awards to all the finalists as the premier body board tour attracts the Nation’s top amateur and Professionals riders.

Conditions for the event were fantastic and couldn’t have been better as the competitors and spectators alike were blessed with sunny skies and solid 3 – 5’ swell. Dana point local/resident and defending Pro DK Camp, Joe Grodzen took advantage off his local knowledge and the excellent conditions as he was the only Pro competitor to make the finals in both Pro Open and Pro DK.

The Pro Open Final was stacked and truly up for grabs as all four finalists rode with unique, original styles and maneuvers both worthy and capable of winning the heat. In the end standing alone the top of the podium was defending Pro Open Tour Champ Drew Erichson claiming the $ 500.00 First place check over Collin Goddard in 2nd, Joe Grodzen 3rd and Danny Hart in 4th.

Read more ...