Sumol Special Edition 2009

Four more names are already known to compete at Praia do Norte in November: Paulinho Costa, Rui Pereira, Dino Carmo e Antonio Cardoso will be present at Special Edition.

Incontestable athlete of the Portuguese panorama, Paulinho Costa won the first Special Edition, at 2003, and reached the final at 2005. Rui Pereira has been present in some IBA world circuit stages and is another name to take into consideration this edition.

The local athletes Dino Carmo and Antonio Pereira are the under 18 that have already started to call the modality attention and that will also be present in a hard-fought contest at Special Edition. These four names join to the initial eleven, adding up to fifteen the national names in competition.


Cronulla Beach

This Summer IBAA and RAW have joined forces to put on a series of Pro Junior events that are only eligible for riders 20 and under as of December 31st 2009.

The series will be held in Newcastle, Woolongong and Cronulla during December / January and the winner of each round will win a return trip to Hawaii on Jetstar, just in time to get to Hawaii for the IBA Grand Slam at Pipeline in Feb.

The RAW Pro Junior series are only 1 day events that can only accomadate a small number of riders so make sure that you get your entries in ASAP.


Parguitos Beach

Parguitos beach, Isla de Margarita, will receive the best women bodyboarders for the Bodyboarding Pro Festival.

The competition will take place from October 22nd to 25th and will distribute 1000 IBA points for the woman world tour.

Neymara Carvalho, current world leader, is chasing here 5th world title but right behind here is the Spanish Eunate Aguirre and Brazilian Jessica Becker.  All 3 competitors are on the race for the 2009 IBA world title.
Besides the girls disputes will take place on the men and drop knee divisions (this counting for the IBA world Drop knee tour).
Top 10 WWT
1. Neymara Carvalho – Brazil 5240
2. Eunate Aguirre – Spain 5225
3. Jessica Becker – Brazil 5015
4. Luz Marie Grand – Porto Rico 4385
5. Isabella Souza – Brazil 4350
6. Catarina Souza – Portugal  4190
7. Rita Pires – Portugal 3965
8. Natasha Sagardia – Porto Rico 3495
9. Lumar Guittard – Venezuela 3055
10. Izamar Vivas – Venezuela 2850

The event will also host the DKWT (Drop-Knee) event and some of the worlds best on the knee will be going hard to secure a potential world Title.