Greenaway Pro

With a potential date overlap between the bodyboard division of the Greenaway Pro in St Ives (4-5 September) and the Auto-Sleepers British Nationals at Porthtowan (5-6 September), the organisers of both competitions are co-ordinating their efforts to avoid a clash.

The bodyboard division of the Greenaway comp will now be held on Friday 4th September; leaving competitors free to compete in both this and the Nationals on 5-6 September.

Rich Hall from the British Bodyboard Club (‘BBC’) said “We recognise that the Greenaway Pro is a unique event, and that Tom had a lot of friends in both the sponge and stand-up surf communities”.  He continued “A lot of guys want to remember Tom by entering the memorial competition, so we’re pleased that we’ve been able to reach this accommodation”.

Matt Smith organiser of the Greenaway Pro said “we’ve had a lot of interest from the bodyboarders, so it was unfortunate to have the date conflict.  This was a sensible compromise that should allow everyone to do both comps if they want to.”

In the spirit of goodwill, the BBC have agreed that should the bodyboard division of the Greenaway Pro not run to completion on the Friday; any competitors who are still in the competition but have entered the Nationals will be permitted to check in by text or by phone on Saturday morning rather than in person at Porthtowan - thereby enabling them to complete the St Ives event first thing on Saturday and then head straight to Porthtowan for the Nationals.

Rich Hall said “We wouldn’t normally bend the established protocols like this, but we recognise the contribution Tom made to the sponge community and want to honour his memory”.

2009 Sintra Portugal Pro

The 3rd Grand Slam event on the 2009 IBA World Tour got underway at Praia Grande' in Sintra, Portugal today.

The waves were clean 2-3 feet and the weather was almost perfect.

The first two rounds of the Men were contested as well as the trails and R1 of the Women.

Both of the front-runners in the WWT got their campaign off to a great start with Unate Aguirre (SPN) and Neymara Carvalho (BRS) winning their opening heats to progress into the next round. However the show-stopper of the day was Brazilian Isabella Sousa who scored two of the best waves of the day and completed some amazing moves to be crowned the days best performer with a heat total of 17.25

The surf was pumping around lunchtime as Praia Grande' served up some punchy wedges and ramps for the competitors to show off their style.

The WTDK event will begin tomorrow with some of the Worlds best drop-knee competitors here for the first IBA International DK event.

Read more ...

Sintra Portugal Pro

The 14th edition of the Sintra Portugal Pro will kick-off tomorrow in Praia Grande.

More than 180 athletes from around the world will compete in the 6th stage of the IBA World Tour 09.

The event will take place until August 30th.

2-to-3 meter waves are expected in the Sintra Portugal Pro.

The DK event will have a $5.000 prize-money.