Joe Clarke leads the 2009 IBA Australasia ranking

Queenslander Joe Clarke has been on fire this year and is currently leading the ratings going into the next event the "Soldiers Beach Pro" on July 16 -19.

Entries need to be recieved no later than  Tuesday 14th July (10am)  otherwise you wil have to pay the $20 late fee and risk losing your seeding so GET THEM OUT NOW!!!!!

Joe will have to defend his lead against the likes of Corey McLean (Qld) and Dave Winchester (NSW) at the 3 Star rated event.

Nicole Flemming is leading the Womens ratings and Dane Pope leads the DK.

Read more ...

Vaughn Harris 

Vaughn Harris, winner of last year's Pro Division, will be looking to hit back at this year's Wedge Classic and hopes to defend his title from the onslaught of many talented Pro and Junior hopefuls. Home advantage will doubtlessly benefit local bodyboarders, who will once again pose a serious threat in the various heats. Sampi Kamffer, Lyndell Pells and Niklas Martins are always highly competitive and regularly made the finals in their respective divisions.

Other names to watch out for are Murray van Vuuren from Port Elizabeth, who will be competing in the Boys Division, while Capetonian Sean Tickner will challenge in the DK Division and Adam Waites of KZN will be in action in the Junior Division. Experts reckon that Ryan Jucker, from Port Elizabeth, will be the rider to beat in the highly competitive Men's Division.

According to Dianna Martin, CEO of Bitou Tourism, they are delighted to support this event once again. "We are very pleased that Plettenberg Bay and surrounds remain the destination of choice for hosting sporting events of both national and world-class stature. During recent weeks, we have hosted prominent paddle ski events and the national canoeing championships as well as the only FIFA fanjol public viewing area in the Western Cape."

Besides seeing some of South Africa's best bodyboarders going head to head in the competition spectators at this year's event can look forward to a death defying display of aerial assaults performed by a select group of riders during the events Expression Session. Always a crowd pleaser, the riders will risk life and limb being towed towards oncoming waves behind a powerful jet ski in order to launch spectacular aerial manoeuvres. The biggest move wins so riders are sure to give it their all.

Read more ...

Shaun Petersen won the 2009 Brett Young Memorial Trials at Cronulla Point | Photo: Riptide Magazine 

An awesome winter’s day greeted competitors on Sunday July 5, for this year’s Emerald Surf City Brett Young Memorial Trials. The event started off in classic winter fashion with offshore winds, crisp sunny conditions and a clean 4-5ft south swell.

The first round saw some impressive heats as Cronulla Point dished out clean corduroy lines; with the sets holding up close to Second Reef the early contestants definitely took full advantage of the ideal boogie conditions. Early standouts were local Brendan Ryan, Chris Ward, Corey Daglish, Charles Holt, Guy Williment, Daniel Hills, Luke O’Connor, Mile Muecke, Simon Cowan, Shaun Peterson, Tristan Hogan and Simon Heale. Two reprecharge heats followed after the first round with James Kates, Chase O’Leary, Sam Strachan and Jarret Johnson all advancing to Round Two.
The waves were still pumping as Round Two commenced, with the ground swell kicking in. The wind swung more SW, creating a slight ripple on Second Reef, so as the wave wrapped down the Point clean faces forced most competitors to either bust or roll out of the First Reef section, or backdoor clean, open pits if they were lucky. As the riders ended their waves and commenced the long paddle back out, a seal popped up unannounced and decided to harassed and played a game of hide ‘n’ seek with competitors in the water. The crowd amazed; the riders more stoked that such a wild animal could be so audacious.
Standouts for Round Two included Brendan Ryan, Charles Holt, Corey Daglish, Johnny Showell, Josh Pollard, Guy Williment, Luke O’Connor, Matt Young, Simon Cowen, Michael Chapple, Shaun Peterson, Shaun Pyne, Thomas Robinson, James Kates, Sam Strachan and Doug Showell.

Read more ...