Iceland's volcano: when Nature commands Man

On Thursday a volcanic eruption in Iceland melted a glacier causing severe floods and spread ash across northern Europe bringing chaos to air travel.

About 800 people have been forced to evacuate their homes, and airports in 23 European countries have grounded more than 63,000 flights stranding thousands of travelers.


Sam Lamiroy: protected by SAS bodyguards

Today, Surfers Against Sewage (SAS) campaigners attended the opening day of the O’Neill Cold Water Classic (CWC) Scotland to promote how surfers can get the most out of new legislation to help protect for Scotland’s world class surfing waves, secured by SAS through the recent Scottish Marine Bill.

The competition is the perfect platform for this important Protect Our Waves campaign action as it is held at Scotland’s world-renowned reef breaks, Thurso and Brimms Ness. The CWC Scotland is also a 6- Star WQS surfing event, attracting the best professional surfers and industry sponsors from around the globe to the area, a clear sign of just how important the surfing waves are to the local area.

On the opening day of the Cold Water Classic, at the Brimms Ness contest site, SAS campaigners were joined by O’Neill professional surfer Sam Lamiroy. Sam took the ‘surfer’s throne’ onto the reef to demonstrate the importance of protecting waves in the area. And to remind surfers to take their seat on the Regional Planning Partnership groups.


Project Save Our Surf: protecting our dreams

World champion surfers Shaun Tomson and Peter ‘PT’ Townend join Project Save Our Surf founder/actress Tanna Frederick when they co-host the Third Annual Project SOS: SURF 24 a 24-hour surfathon to benefit Surfrider Foundation, Heal the Bay and Inside the Outdoors.

Celebrity surfers include Sam Trammel (True Blood), Dylan Bruno (Numb3rs), Jesse Spencer (House), Sean Patrick Flanery (Boondock Saints), Chad Lowe (24), Michael Munoz (Amazing Race), Eric Balfour (24), Brandon Boyd (Incubus), David Chokachi (Beyond the Break), Gregory Harrison (Trapper John, MD), Chris Bruno (Dead Zone) and Kathy Zuckerman (Gidget).