2008 ISA World Surfing Games 

Beginning with this year’s edition, the International Surfing Association announced that the Bodyboard divisions will no longer be part of the disciplines within the World Surfing Games.

 Starting in 2009 the teams that participate in the ISA World Surfing Games will included the following athletes
- 4 Open Men 
- 2 Open Women
- 2 Longboarders Men

The teams, that used to include up to 10 competitors, now will have eight, making it easier for the different federations to finance their team’s traveling expenses.

As seen, in the 2009 Billabong ISA World Surfing Games that will take place in Costa Rica next August, teams will no longer include bodyboarders but will increase from one longboarder to two longboarders.

ISA’s objective when making this decision was to concentrate all efforts on the different surfriding disciplines in existence today.  Therefore, an exclusive Bodyboard world championship is being planned, giving this discipline a more visible profile.

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, commented on the team changes for the next ISA World Surfing Games: “The ISA decided to provide separate events for both stand up surfers and bodyboarders in order to provide the most appropriate waves and judging resources specific to each sport.”

About International Surfing Association

The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the World Governing Authority for surfing, bodyboarding and surfriding. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running world championships since 1964 and the Junior World Championships since 1980.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies (NGBs) of over 50 countries on six continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided by Fernando Aguerre, first elected in 1994 in Rio, and re-elected six times since. The ISA's four Vice Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Robin de Kock (South Africa), Mike Gerard (USA) and Karin Sierralta (Peru).