Hollywood surfing: Matthew McConaughey eyeing a perfect barrel

How does the film industry portray the stereotypical surfer? Take a look at the surfing world through the eyes of Hollywood movies.

The motion picture industry loves commonplaces, formulas and conventions. But how does the entertainment industry see surfing and surfers? A bunch of blonde-haired beach bums with standard catchphrases in their brains?

Hollywood has been using surfing stunts and surf stars in a wide variety of movies, especially since the 1960s. Sean Penn, Martin Sheen, Matthew McConaughey, Keanu Reeves and Gerard Butler have hit the surf with cameras rolling with major success.


SATA Airlines Azores Pro 2014: perfect surf at Sao Miguel | Photo: ASP/Damien Poullenot

The world's best surfers have kicked off the SATA Airlines Azores Pro 2014, at Praia de Santa Barbara, on Sao Miguel Island, Azores.

The decisive Prime event opened with excellent four-to-six foot hollow waves, offering deep barrels and perfect wave faces for high-performance maneuvers. Caio Ibelli impressed with the highest heat score of the day.

"I've been here five days already, and yesterday the waves got big and I broke all my board. I was kind of bummed, but I went out there and looked for the barrels cause I don't feel comfortable doing turns on this board. There's nothing better to get barreled like that early in the morning, I'm stoked to be here in the Azores," says Ibelli.


Kirra: you should've been here last week

Kirra was the capital of tube riding of Planet Earth for an entire week. Surfers have enjoyed the best barrels of the decade between 25th and 29th August, 2014.

Long, green and endless tubes. Australian surfers were threading barrel after barrel in a historic week of wave riding action in the beachside suburb of the Gold Coast, in Queensland.

The extension of the Kirra groyne by 30 meters has drastically improved the quality of the surf from Snapper Rocks, across Rainbow Bay through to Greenmount.