Ty Watson: a flying victory

Ty Watson (NSW/Currarong/Sth Coast) won his first ever ASP Australasian Pro Junior Series event by taking out the Fantastic Noodles Pro Junior in powerful surf at Waitpinga Beach in South Australia.

“It’s the best feeling to finally win an ASP Pro Junior event” said Watson.

“This is my final year on this series and coming into this event, with just three events remaining I’ve had it on my mind to really try and win one – I’ve made finals and semi-finals but until today have not nailed a win and it just feels great.”


Ben Apps: that should't be easy...

History was created today as the first ever NSW Standup Paddleboard champions were crowned at the picturesque One Mile Beach.

Greeted with clear skies, light offshore winds and beautiful, clean lines, the best Paddlers in the state put on a memorable show, heralding just how far the fledging sport has come.

With approximately 50 competitors competing for prestigious state titles and the opportunity to compete at the Australian Stand Up Paddleboard Titles, held as part of the Country Energy Australian Surf Festival at Port Macquarie in August, spectators, competitors and event organisers were on tenterhooks before the opening siren.


Mick Fanning: deeply focused

The 2010 ASP World Tour returned with a vengeance today, bearing witness to Day 1 of the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay and the greatest assemblage of surfing talent in history tearing into excellent four-to-six foot (2 metre) waves at the iconic pointbreak.

With clear skies, idyllic surf and the world's greatest surfers on hand, Round 1 of the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay saw the 2010 ASP World Title Race reignited with the top seeds putting in sensational performances.

Mick Fanning (AUS), 29, reigning ASP World Champion and two-time past winner of the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay (2002, 2006), kick-started his 2010 campaign in fine form today, lacerating the pristine walls of Jeffreys Bay with the highest heat total of the event, a 16.70 out of a possible 20, to advance through to Round 3.