Kneeboarding: that is not easy

Kneeboarding is not a very common sport in the world's beaches but, in fact, there are lot of fans and competitors out there.

The truth is more than 200 competitors from 12 countries will competing for the highest trophy, from 19 to 26 March 2011, at Phillip Island, Victoria.

The 2011 ISA World Kneeboard Titles is held every two years and will crown the world champions in the Open division as well as the age divisions that range from Under 16 to Over 60.

Read more ...

Kelly Slater Wave Company: designing the perfect tube

The website is already on and the details start to emerge. Ten-time world champion Kelly Slater is about to kick off one of the greatest challenges of the surfing world: to create the perfect artificial wave in a controlled environment.

"Good quality waves any day is like gold", says the Floridian surfer in his regular Youtube vidcasts.

The surfer-entrepreneur has already named his company. The Kelly Slater Wave Company will be developing engineering techniques that will allow surfers to "rent" overhead waves for half an hour.

When will we be enjoying these wave pools? There's not a precise date, but we know Kelly Slater will make it happen sooner than we think.

Read more ...

Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau: charging since 1984

The 26th Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau has announced the 28 coveted invitees and 24 alternates. The official holding period extends from December 1st, 2010 through February 28th, 2011.

The competition will be staged on a day when waves exceed the 20-foot (Hawaiian Scale) minimum.

The traditional opening ceremony will take place at 2:30pm, December 2nd, 2010, at Waimea Bay. The event gathers the most skillful and dynamic big-wave surfers from around the globe. The Eddie is a surfer's ultimate challenge, employing unassisted manpower to physically paddle into and ride giant waves.

Last year's December 8th is still considered the greatest single episode in the history of big wave riding. Let's hope the 2010/2011 edition will bring the biggest swell ever.

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau is the only big wave event sanctioned by the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), the governing body of professional surfing.


Clyde Aikau
Kala Alexander
Tom Carroll
Kohl Christensen
Ross Clarke-Jones
Shane Dorian
Koene Downing
Sunny Garcia
Mark Healey
Michael Ho
Bruce Irons
Noah Johnson
Rusty Keaulana
Brock Little
Greg Long
Reef McIntosh
Garrett McNamara
Peter Mel
Ramon Navarro
Jamie O'Brien
Makuakai Rothman
Kelly Slater
Jamie Sterling
Dave Wassel
Grant Baker
Chris Bertish
Carlos Burle
Takayuki Kinimaka


Kahea Hart
Ross Williams
Nathan Fletcher
Mark Mathews
Sion Miloski
Kalani Chapman
Keoni Watson
Anthony Tashnick
Ian Walsh
Koby Abberton
Danny Fuller
Kealii Mamala
Ken Collins
Myles Padaca
Laurie Towner
Jamie Mitchell
Paul Patterson
Andrew Marr
Rusty Long
Tony Ray
Derek Ho
Taylor Knox
Tav Hannemann
Manoa Drollet


Donny Solomon
Jay Moriarity
Lester Falatea
Mark Foo
Peter Davi
Tiger Espere
Todd Chesser
Andy Irons