Sunny Garcia: he clashed one legend

Sunny Garcia has conquered the Clash of the Legends, an event held during the 2010 Reef Hawaiian Pro. The homeboy defeated fellow surfers Mark Occhilupo (Australia), Tom Curren (Santa Barbara, CA. USA) and Tom Carroll (Australia).

"It was inconsistent and I knew I got lucky because I got three set waves and those guys didn't get any," said Garcia, of his 30-minute final. "After I got the first one I figured I didn't have anything to lose and I paddled them deep.

Garcia, 40, has already won six Triple Crown of Surfing events. He stormed it in 2004, 2000, 1999, 1994, 1993 and 1992. During this special contest, there was a real clash between surfers. An interference incident almost ended the party atmosphere.

"I thought it was going to be a mellow thing, and that first heat woke me up to the fact that those guys were hungry and they still want to win so it was anything goes. But it was an honor to surf against those guys."

Reef Clash of the Legends - Final results:

1. Sunny Garcia (HAW) 40.05
2. Mark Occhilupo (AUS) 36.46
3. Tom Curren (USA) 35.49
4. Tom Carroll (AUS) 28.11

Joel Parkinson: from injured to crowned

Joel Parkinson has returned in great shape to pro surfing contests by winning the Reef Hawaiian Pro, in Haleiwa. The Australian surfer, 29, recovered from a six-month injury and defeated Joel Centeio (HAW), Julian Wilson (AUS) and Heath Joske (AUS) to claim the first jewel of the Hawaii.

Parkinson was the only athlete to score a perfect 10, during the entire event.

"It has been a pretty up and down year emotionally," said Parkinson. "I cut my foot and I was out of action for six months, I didn't surf for three months and I didn't compete for six months. Then I had a baby son so we had some joy, and then Andy (Irons) passed. It's been one of those years with one good thing then one bad thing. The year is almost over, we'll get through it and I'm trying to make amends with all good things that can happen from here to December.

"Riding a wave is always one of those things that, no matter what happens in or around your life, you can still ride a wave and forget everything.

Joel Centeio, the defending champion, got the second place while Wilson took third and Joske fourth in the final heat.

Only 11 head-high waves were surfed but the first competition is done. Surfers now head to Sunset Beach, just seven miles from Haleiwa, for the O'Neill World Cup of Surfing.

Final of the Reef Hawaiian Pro:

1ST - Joel Parkinson (AUS) 15.00; $20,000
2ND - Joel Centeio (HAW) 7.04; $10,000
3RD - Julian Wilson (AUS) 6.86; $5,100
4TH - Heath Joske (AUS) 3.14, $4,900

Kelly Slater: smile, you're on CNN

Kelly Slater has exchanged a few ideas with CNN's national correspondent Jason Carroll. The 10-time world surfing champion kicked off the interview explaining why he is still in physical form with 38 years old.

Slater says getting married and having kids was a choice of many surfers in the Tour and that probably changes everybody's life a bit.

But he has other thoughts on is remarkable achievement. "I think I found what I'm probably best at. I'm getting the essence of what is it to be in the ocean and ride a wave. I also enter in a focus zone, concentrating in what I'm doing", reveals the Floridian.

"In competition you have to be mentally prepared for anything that can happen, good or bad. You have to be able to see things ahead of time. I spend a lot of time trying to be prepared for all type of scenarios and not letting them bring you down or build you up too much to where you feel invincible. I try not to let emotions rule your physical ability".

Kelly Slater's interview with CNN ended with his own concept of surfing.

"We have our own lifestyle, our own culture. It's not a mainstream culture, it's a lifestyle choice for hardcore surfers who love to surf. Whatever they do for work is basically about making money so they can live their lifestyle by the beach". CNN calls him "the greatest athlete you've never heard of". Excuse me?