Kelly Slater: another title?

Kelly Slater, Stephanie Gilmore and Victor Fernandez are three of the six personalities nominated for the 2011 Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year. The wave riding community must be thrilled with this outstanding achievement.

The nominations prove that surfing, kitesurfing, windsurfing and bodyboarding are growing action sports. Kelly Slater (USA) was chose for the unprecedented record of tenth world surfing championships, Stephanie Gilmore (Australia) won her fourth consecutive world title and Victor Fernandez (Spain) took the PWA Wave Tour and led rankings throughout season.

These are the arguments of the Laureus World Sports Awards. The final decision will be made in Abu Dhabi, the capital city of the United Arab Emirates, on Monday, February 7. Will one wave rider take home the biggest trophy?

2011 Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year (Nominations):

Jamie Bestwick (UK) BMX - seventh gold medal in BMX Vert at X Games, with first-ever four-peat
Victor Fernandez (Spain) Windsurfing - won PWA Wave Tour and led ranking throughout season
Stephanie Gilmore (Australia) Surfing - won her fourth consecutive world championship
Levi Sherwood (New Zealand) Freestyle Moto-Cross - at 18, won two events on X-Fighters Tour
Kelly Slater (US) Surfing - won an unprecedented record tenth World Surfing Championship.
Shaun White (US) Snowboarding - won second straight Olympic gold in Halfpipe, with 48.4 out of 50

Roberto d'Amico: Italian surf star

The Surfing Italy Awards have been set to the 23rd January, at the Bondi Cafe, in Santa Marinella, Rome. This is the first ever award event held in the country to honour surfers, clubs, industry and media. Also, Italy will celebrate the great surfers of the past and the new generation of wave riders.

The awards will be delivered from 12h30m and all water sports fans are invited. The nominations for the Surfing Italy Awards are:

Best Contest – Protest Banzai Pro
Best Long Contest – Bear Sardinia Longboard Invitational
Best Special Surf Contest – Frozen Open Marinedda
Best SUP Race contest – Surfing Italia Cup Bari
Best SUP Wave contest – Turtle Padlle Cup Andora
Best Junior Contest – Quiksilver king of the grom Anzio
Best Body Contest – Quiksilver Scavi body challenge
Best Regional Contest – ex equo Insane Scavi Challenge and Entella Surf Classic
Best Regional Coordinator – Andrea Tordi, Emilia Romagna
Best Event Media Coverage – Italia Surf Expo, S.Severa
Best Brand Support – (Frozen, Bear, Protest, Lightning Bolt, Insane, Quiksilver, Oakley, Monster Energy, Moki, Starboard, Naish, Jimmy Lewis)
Best International Results – Leonardo Fioravanti
Best Surf Club Activity – Ostia Surf club
Rookie of the Year – Alessandro De Martino
Best Testimonial SI 2010 – Sunny Garcia, Hawaii
Best Book 2010 – Zai Point di G. Grispello e M. Balloni
Best Video Profile – Fluendo di L.Marzocca
Special Awards – Graziano Lai, Sardegna

Campioni Italiani 2010 Categoria Shortboard

1st Man Top44 – Roberto D'Amico
1st Girls – Valentina Vitale
1st Girls Under 18 – Alessandra Balistreri
1st Man Under 18 – Roberto D'Amico
1st Man Under 16 – Niccolò Amorotti

Campioni Italiani 2010 Categoria Longboard

1st Man - Matteo Fabbri
1st Woman - Gioia Sodini

Campioni Italiani 2010 Categoria SUP (Wave/Race)

1st Wave Open – Alessandro Onofri
1st Race 12.6 – Fabrizio Gasbarro
1st Race Junior – Mario Paudice
1st Race Girls Open – Silvia Mecucci
1st Race Master 12.6 – Massimo Cipollari
1st Race Master 14 – Helgo Lass

Campione Italiano 2010 Categoria Bodyboard

1st – Genesio Ludovisi

Campione Italiano 2010 Categoria Indoboard

1st – Daniele Verdecchi

Clement Cetran and Dhelia Birou: the best world surfing dancers

Clement Cetran and Dhelia Birou are the grand winners of the 2011 ISA Tandem Surfing World Championships, held for the first time on the mainland USA. Trestles was the stage and the French pair is ecstatic. They have stormed tandem surfing by taking the title for the second consecutive time.

All contestants battled a variety of conditions from small wind chop to glassy, chest-high waves, high tide lulls, and low-tide rocks. Hungry rocks tried to bite into many teams, and several boards were dinged and others lost fins and had to be replaced mid-heat. Luckily, despite many close calls where teams crashed onto the rocky shore, no one was seriously hurt, only a few bruises, which is nothing new to seasoned tandem surfers.

Read more ...