Jared Neal: mini surfboard fan

It wasn’t just longboarders making waves at the Hyundai Malfunction Surf Festival today, with SUP and retro riders ruling on day two of competition at Kingscliff.

In building 3-4ft conditions, competitors tore into the clean waves on offer, carving up across the Shawline Plumbing Retro, Twin Towns Panel Repairs over 40’s and Greenline Stand Up Paddle (SUP) surfing divisions.

Coffs Harbour ace Jared Neal, 26, showed he couldn’t just ride longboards, ripping it up on a board of a bygone era (pre 1981) to accrue the highest combined heat total (16.00 - out of a possible 20), which included a strong 8.5 and a backup of 7.5, in Round 1 of the talent-packed retro division.


Ben Bourgeois: high score crusher

The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS) 2-Star Vans Pier Classic presented by Jack’s Surfboards saw former ASP World Tour surfer Ben Bourgeois (Wrightsville Beach, NC), 31, crush the day’s highest scores while ASP Pro Junior talents Dillon Perillo (Malibu, CA), 19, and Kolohe Andino (San Clemente, CA), 15, denoted some of the day’s top performances.

Surfers competing in the Vans Pier Classic are looking to capture the valuable ratings points on offer towards establishing their seed on the ASP WQS.


Billabong XXL: is there a measure for bigger than XXL?

The annual event period for the Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards presented by Monster Energy coincided with the end of the Northern Hemisphere winter last Saturday – but a last-minute off-season swell slamming Tahiti has turned the competition upside down with a fresh influx of stunning big wave images.

The largest waves seen there in three years (and some of the heaviest tubes ever photographed) heaved across the legendary reef at Teahupoo on March 17, scraping in under today’s final deadline for entering images into the XXL event.

For the first time in the ten-year history of the Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards, a swell with the power to rearrange the potential nominees has come in the final week of the year-long competition. Watch all the 2010 Billabong XXL Ride of the Year entries.