Stephanie Giomore and Mick Fanning: winners always smile

The world’s best surfers assembled at the Gold Coast Convention Centre last night for the ASP World Champions’ Crowning, a gala event and the premiere evening in professional surfing.

Taking top honors for the evening were Gold Coast duo Mick Fanning (AUS), 28, and Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), 22, being officially crowned ASP World Champion and ASP Women’s World Champion respectively.

Kelly Slater (USA), 38, former nine-time ASP World Champion and current ASP World No. 6, was present to graciously present Fanning with his ASP World Title trophy.


Todos Santos Big Wave Event: everyone's looking at the computer swell forecast'

Looking pretty slow in the immediate term with just modest WNW swell mix Tue/Wed.

New WNW swell builds and peaks over the afternoon on Thursday but that will be below the contest size threshold and mainly in the 8’ range (15’ faces, with a few sets up to maybe 20’ on the face, at best). Conditions Thursday afternoon/evening, as the swell peaks, also look less than ideal with 10-15kt+ NW wind.

We will be watching a potentially larger NW swell for late in the weekend, which is looking strongest for Todos Santos on Sunday the 28th at this point. If the storm behaves as currently forecast, a 12’+ deepwater swell (20-25’ faces) looks possible on Sunday, although conditions will need to be watched closely as a front will be moving through the area at roughly the same time and may set up unfavorable wind.


ASP iPhone application: you still need to go surfing in real life

ASP International iPhone application, ASPtogo, is now available for download online, putting the world’s best surfing in your pocket wherever you may roam.

The ASPtogo application gives the user live scores, heat results, photos, videos and connects to LIVE video feeds of the world’s best surfers going off in the world’s best waves.

One download will give the user access to all ASP events, from the ASP World Tour through the ASP Pro Junior events, allowing one to follow their favorite surfers at every level of the sport.