Matt Banting

Only four surfers remain in the running to be crowned champion of the prestigious 2010 Oakley Pro Junior with the event’s semi-finals and final to be held tomorrow on North Stradbroke Island (Queensland, Australia).

Number-one seed Mitch Crews (Currumbin, Qld), Matt Banting (Port Macquarie, NSW), Davey Cathels (Narrabeen, NSW) and Jodi Watson (South Coast, NSW) are the final four surfers left in the draw, which began earlier this week with a field of 140 of the world’s best international junior surfers.

It was action aplenty today as the Grade – 5 AUD $30,000 event entered the pointy end of competition with Main Beach (North Stradbroke Island, Queensland) serving up a contestable 0.5m swell for the round-of-16 and quarter finals.


Mavericks Surf Contest

Greenlight Alert! The wait is over, the votes have been counted, and the 24 invitees have chosen to call The 2009/2010 Mavericks Surf Contest® Presented by Sony Ericsson and Barracuda Networks for 8 a.m. on Saturday February 13, 2010.

Showcasing 24 of the world’s finest big-wave surfers, the largest prize purse in the history of big-wave surfing at $150,000, a groundbreaking live webcast program, and four former Contest Champions, the Mavericks Surf Contest returns once again to the epic Half Moon Bay break.

2009/2010 Contest Invitees. Mavericks is proud to present: Matt Ambrose, Ben Andrews, Grant Baker, Ion Banner, Chris Bertish, Carlos Burle, Kenny Collins, Shane Desmond, Nathan Fletcher, Brock Little, Greg Long, Josh Loya, Peter Mel, Shawn Rhodes, Ryan Seelbach, Evan Slater, Tyler Smith, Jamie Sterling, Anthony Tashnick, Darryl Virostko, Grant Washburn, Dave Wassell, Tim West, and Zach Wormhoudt.

The 15 alternates are (in order of priority): Alex Martins, Danilo Couto, Mark Healey, Tyler Fox, Rusty long, Nic Lamb, Jamie Mitchell, Mike Gerhardt, Russell Smith, Kealii Mamala, Garrett McNamara, Andrew Marr, Lawton Smith, John Whittle, Colin Dwyer.


Bethany Hamilton's life story will be screened in 'Soul Surfer'

Transporting a real-life tale of adventure, tragedy, courage, and a story as impressive as Hawaii's most famous waves, principal photography began this week on the North Shores of Oahu and Kauai, on Soul Surfer. The inspirational film is based on the autobiography of 19-year-old champion surfer Bethany Hamilton, who, for over six years, has defied all odds to compete and win professional championships after losing her arm in a shark attack at age thirteen.

Soul Surfer stars Golden Globe nominee Dennis Quaid (as Bethany's father Tom), Academy Award winner Helen Hunt (as Bethany's mother Cheri), Young Artist Award winner AnnaSophia Robb (as Bethany Hamilton) and four-time Grammy winner and platinum-selling music artist Carrie Underwood (as Church Youth Leader Sarah Hill) in her film debut. The cast also includes Lorraine Nicholson (as Alana Blanchard) and Kevin Sorbo (as Holt Blanchard). Watch the trailer for the "Soul Surfer" movie, here.

Newly launched Mandalay Vision and Brookwell McNamara Entertainment and Life's A Beach Entertainment present Soul Surfer, a Sean McNamara Film, distributed by Affirm Films, a Sony Pictures Entertainment Company, financed by Enticing Entertainment and Island Film Group. Sean McNamara will direct from a screenplay by McNamara, Deborah Schwartz, Douglas Schwartz and Michael Berk based on the best-selling novel Soul Surfer by Bethany Hamilton. Contributors to the screenplay include Ron Bass, Jen Smolka and Kara Holden. The film is produced by Douglas Schwartz, David Brookwell, Sean McNamara and Roy Dutcher Hofstetter and executive produced by David Zelon, David Tice and Dominic Ianno.