O'Neill Coldwater Classic: Steamer Lane is always one | Photo: O'Neill

Jeison Torres Abarca has earned an exclusive wildcard into the 2014 O'Neill Coldwater Classic Invitational.

The surf contest will be run between October 28th and November 1st, at Steamer Lane in Santa Cruz, California. The winner of the event will be awarded a life-changing yearlong O'Neill Wetsuits contract worth $50,000 in travel incentives and contest fees.

Jeison Abarca comes from Costa Rica. He won the online video voting contest against three other surfers. The 26-year-old talent collected 44% of the votes, ahead of Leif Engstrom (31%), Kadin Panesi (15%) and Austin Smith-Ford (10%).


Julian Wilson: perfect hair, flawless floater | Photo: ASP/Masurel

The last 24 surfers of the Cascais Billabong Pro 2014 have been decided, in stormy conditions, at Guincho.

It has been one of the toughest Prime events of the season. The world's best wave riders battled challenging maritime conditions in the Portuguese windsurfing capital. Four Dream Tour surfers went down during Round 2.

That was not the case of Adriano De Souza, who displayed his beach break knowledge to earn the day's highest single-wave score of a 9.50 out of 10.


Cascais Billabong Pro 2014: surfing in a windsurfing gem | Photo: ASP/Masurel

Several top seeds have fallen in Round 1 of the Cascais Billabong Pro 2014, held in four-to-six foot surf at Guincho.

The Prime surf contest plays a critical role in the hunt for the 2015 World Surf League and will decide the 2014 European surfing champion. Many Dream Tour surfers tasted the power of the Portuguese windsurfing wave gem and were eliminated in the first round.

Taj Burrow was one of them. Carlos Munoz and Joan Duru got the Australian and Tomas Fernandes out of competition.