2009 Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau

In statements fitting of the 25th anniversary of The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau, fueled by Monster Energy, Contest Director George Downing and Aikau's brother Clyde stunned the gathered audience when they announced that the event would run within the week.

All forecasts point towards one of the largest swells to hit Hawaii in decades. The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau is an ASP specialty sanctioned event.

"Seven, eight or nine," said Downing to an initially bewildered crowd. "It's gonna happen one of those days." Downing was referring to Monday, December 7, or Tuesday the 8th or Wednesday the 9th.

Theceremony was an overwhelming tribute, complete with the original Hokule'a voyaging canoe in Waimea Bay in the midst of a 15- to 18-foot swell. The Hokule'a is a symbol of great Hawaiian pride; a traditional double-hulled vessel that represents the original Polynesian voyage to the Hawaiian islands. It is also the same boat from which Aikau paddled for assistance in 1978, never to be seen again. Hokule’a had capsized in heavy seas in the Moloka'i Channel, injuring crew, en-route to Tahiti.


Kelly Slater is testing asymmetrical surfboards shaped at Channel Islands

What has Kelly Slater been up to this past week?

He’s been busy.

He revisited Todos Santos for the first time in 18 years and rode a brand new 5′6” in well overhead conditions.

He scored a ten second barrel on a 5′6” MTF at Rincon.

The last few days he’s been in the CI Factory shaping room experimenting with concave decks with beveled rails on the underside– similar to what Gerr used to mess around with.


Praia do Norte, Nazaré, Portugal

The Portuguese Surfing Federation (FPS) will present the first big wave event held in Portugal.

The FPS Extreme Wave will award surfers, bodyboarders and photographers that score the biggest ride of the 2009/2010 winter period.

Winners in both categories will take home €5.000 (€2.000 for the athletes and €500 for the photographers).

Only waves above three meters high will be considered.

Surfers and bodyboarders are invited to paddle or tow-in, take-off and drop.