Owen Wright

Owen Wright (Lennox Head, NSW) became the most famed junior surfer in ASP Australasia Pro Junior Series history today winning the Dripping Wet Pro Junior presented by Arrive alive. Following on from his younger sister’s, Tyler, win yesterday, Wright created history in nearly every available category at Manly today.

Having not been defeated in a single heat all year, Wright has also accrued the most prize money in a year, whilst wrapping up the ASP Australasian Pro Junior Series crown with an event to spare.

Defeating his good friend, and number two seed, Dean Bowen (Gerroa, NSW) in the final, Wright was over the moon with what he achieved today. “I feel awesome,” he said with a massive smile on his face.

“I knew that Deano has been in devastating form so I wanted to wrap up the Series here at Manly,” he said after outpointing Bowen 13.00 (out of a possible 20) to 8.00. “I didn’t want to leave it up to him at Bells.” Leading up to the final, the stage was set for the two top seeds in front of a mass of spectators.

A win would have seen Wright crowned ASP Australasian Pro Junior Series champion on the spot, however a win from Bowen would have seen the Series title dragged out to the next event in Bells, where Wright won’t be competing.

And so began a memorable final, rife with dynamic, powerful, innovative surfing, suspense and anticipation from the current ISA World Junior champion and the heir-apparent to the king, Kelly Slater.


Mick Fanning wins Trestles

Mick Fanning (AUS), 28, former ASP World Champion (2007), has taken out the Hurley Pro Trestles, besting fellow Finalist Dane Reynolds (USA), 24, to claim the richest winner’s prize purse in surfing history, US$105,000.

Event No. 6 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Hurley Pro Trestles enjoyed rippable swell at the start of the waiting period before enduring three consecutive lay days to culminate in today’s marathon of barrier-breaking action. With mind-blowing surfing going down from Round 4 through the Finals in clean two-to-three foot (1 metre) surf at Lower Trestles, it was the lightning-fast Australian who turned up the juice against Reynolds to claim his first-ever ASP Dream Tour win in California.

“I’m overwhelmed,” Fanning said. “I’d like to congratulate Hurley and a huge thank you to them. I’d like to congratulate Dane (Reynolds) too. The sort of thing that he did, he’s only the start of what we’ll see in the next few years, so thanks for inspiring all of us. The conditions this week been very difficult, but that’s surfing. You’ve got to surf in all kinds of stuff, you can’t sit there and imagine one perfect wave at Trestles.”

In addition to racking up US$105,000 for today’s efforts, Fanning’s win rockets him from 7th to 2nd on the ASP World Tour ratings, bringing him right back in the hunt for the 2009 ASP World Title.


Kai Otton

Small surf has forced the third consecutive lay day for the Hurley Pro Trestles, with only inconsistent one-to-two foot (0.5 metre) surf on offer yesterday.

Event No. 6 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Hurley Pro Trestles went on hold for most of the morning in hopes of a swell increase, but inconsistency, combined with the continued small size, prompted event organizers to call competition off for the day.

“The surf never approached a level where we were comfortable running today,” Perry Hatchett, ASP Head Judge, said. “We’ll competition tomorrow morning at 7am sharp and will finish by day’s end.”

Surfline, official foreer of the Hurley Pro Trestles, is calling for a moderate southwest energy to continue filling in over the next several days.

When competition resumes, up first will be former event winner Bede Durbdige (AUS), 26, up against compatriot Kai Otton (AUS), 29, in Heat 1 of Round 4.

Heat 1: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 2: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
Heat 3: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)
Heat 4: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Rob Machado (USA)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Kekoa Bacalso (HAW)
Heat 6: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 7: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 8: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)