Dean Bowen

Dean Bowen (Gerroa, NSW) today claimed the 2010’s Grade – 5 Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) Hurley Burleigh Pro Junior claiming a professional junior surfing world-record USD$25,000 winner’s cheque.

Bowen defeated Chris Friend (Alex Headland, Qld) in a seesawing final, which saw Bowen fall behind early, before retaliating with a blistering 9.17 (out of a possible 10) wave, registering a combined two-wave total of 16.17 (out of a possible 20) to Friend’s 14.63.

“I’ll definitely be having a few drinks tonight with family and friends, and possibly take a quiet little trip to the Gold Coast casino,” an excited Bowen, 19, said.

Read more ...

Mickey February

Epic surf and the world's up-and-coming junior surf stars produced an unforgettable day at the 2010 edition of the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in New Zealand today.

And what a show it was. With only two days to go in the prestigious tournament, competitors hit their straps, shredding apart the barreling 6-8ft (1.5-2m) waves that marched through for day six of competition at Piha Beach.

USA surfing sensation Kolohe Andino dealt with the pressure in a consummate fashion, setting the standard for the day with both the highest individual wave score (9.25) and two-wave heat total (18.00) in his main event round 4 of the Under 16 Boys´ heat.

Read more ...

Mitch Crews

Semi-finalists have been decided as the 2010 Grade – 5 Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) Hurley Burleigh Pro Junior presented by Nike 6.0 prepares to enter its final day of competition tomorrow.

For the third straight day, contest organisers were forced to relocate the event from its primary site at Burleigh Heads to the Southport Spit (Gold Coast, Qld), with contestable 0.5-1m waves providing the perfect platform for competitors to display an exciting array of maneuvers.

An overall event winner is set to be crowned amidst the celebrations of Australia Day tomorrow and after four days of intense competitive surfing action, only four competitors remain – And, they’re all Australian.

Read more ...