Surfing America 

Surfing America, the National Governing Body for surfing in the USA, is pleased to announce that a new series of events, called Surfing America Prime, will blanket the nation in the 2009/2010 competition season. 

What was PacSun WSA Prime presented by Got Milk?—an incredibly successful series of events for “under 18” surfers on the West Coast this past year—will expand its footprint across the country under the Surfing America banner.  The Surfing America Prime series will be made up of ten (10) events in total:  six contests on the West Coast, three contests on the East Coast, and one in Texas.  

The series kicks off at DMJ’s on Camp Pendleton on August 22-23 and offers a high standard of competion for aspiring surfers in the following age divisions:

Boys Under 18

Boys Under 16

Boys Under 14

Girls Under 18

Girls Under 16

As a result of this development, any mainland US athlete in these divisions, who seeks entry into 2010 Surfing America USA Championships event, must compete in—and qualify through—the new Surfing America Prime.  A limited number of slots into Surfing America Prime will be distributed by invitation-only by Surfing America member organizations (ESA, NSSA, TGSA, and WSA).  As there is no Prime series in Hawaii yet, a limited number of HSA and NSSA-Hawaii Under-18 athletes will advance into to the USA Championships directly from their organizations.

All competitors in adult age divisions will continue to qualify to the USA Championships through the current structure in their respective Surfing America member organization. 


Surfboards could be treated as a cruise liner in the UK

Surfers, bodyboarders, windsurfers and kitesurfers of the United Kingdom may be jailed and fined up to £50,000 if they cause accidents at sea.

The proposal is being discussed by the Department for Transport (DfT) under the Merchant Shipping Act and it was unveiled after a jet skier avoided prision in a severe accident that caused head injuries in a man.

The jet skier was jailed for six months, but the sentence changed as it was ruled that a jet ski is not technically a ship.

Moreover, surfers, bodyboarders, windsurfers and kitesurfers could have problems in the future, in case of being caught under the influence of drugs and alcohol.

Preventing colllisions at sea, in the UK, is the main drive of this proposal that treats all watercraft as a single unit.


Dean Bowen 

Eight of Australia's top Pro Junior surfers are set to line up in a world first Fantastic Noodles Intense Wave Invitational '09.

This select field of big wave young surfers will be placed on-call for the entire month of August, ready for the months biggest southern Australian swell.

The invited field includes:
Owen Wright (NSW/Association of Surfing Professionals Australasia 2009 Pro Junior ratings leader)

Dean Bowen (NSW/Current Australian and World under 18 Junior Champion)

Teale Vanner (South Australia/South Australia's highest rated Pro Junior surfer)

Blake Ainsworth (Qld/Talented Gold Coast Pro Junior)

Cahill Bell-Warren (Vic/Esteemed big wave surfer from Bells Beach)

Courtney Brown (WA/Fearless big wave surfer)

Josiah Schmucker (Streaky Bay South Australian underground big wave surfer)
Sam Hawke (New Zealand, another underground surfer with big wave reputation).