2009 Jamaican Junior Surfing Championship Series 

Garren Pryce of Bull Bay in Saint Andrew and eighteen year old Shane Simmonds of Boston Bay in Portland were respective winners in the under 16 and under 18 divisions at the first event of the of the Jamaica Surfing Association’s 2009 National Junior Surfing Championship Series.

Twenty young surfers registered for the event which was contested in light onshore winds in 3’ waves at the Copa Cabana surfing beach in Bull Bay, St. Andrew on Saturday 11th July. There were 16 entrants competing in the under-16 division. Four first round heats were held from which the top eight would compete for the four available positions in the final.

Semi-final one saw Ivah Wilmot up against Ackeem Talor, Garren Pryce and Alex Williams. The surfers rode 27 waves between them. Garren picked off the best wave of the heat which earned a 7.5 from the judges and was the highest scoring wave of the event. Garren and Ivah advanced to the final.

In semi-final two, the face off was between Shama Beckford, Armani Green, Ricardo Crossman and Jamoy Hall. The surfers rode 27 waves, with Shama Beckford capturing the top spot after riding the highest scoring wave of the heat; earning him a 6.5. Shama Beckford and Armani Green both advanced to the final.

The Final was exciting and saw Ivah, Garren, Armani and Shama paddling out to challenge for under 16 national glory. The wind had picked up which made wave selection a vital tactic in each surfer’s battle plan. The horn sounded and the 20 minute final was on. Thirty six waves were ridden with a number of excellent rides being demonstrated by the young athletes. It was close but when the scores were tallied Garren held on to first by a thread from Shama in second, Ivah in third and Armani in fourth.


Dayyan Neve 

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay will commence this morning at 7:30am in clean three-to-five (1.5 metre) surf at South Africa’s iconic pointbreak.

Stop No. 5 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay has seen the ASP Top 45 survive through four consecutive lay days, but today’s improved conditions will have the world’s best surfers in the water.

“We’ve got the ning of what could turn into a really good day of waves out there this morning and we’ll be getting underway at 7:30am,” Mike Parsons, Billabong Pro Contest Director, said. “Recent swell projections have prompted us to activate the new competition format so we can make the most of the conditions on offer, but we will not be running the dual-heat tem today.”

The new ASP competition format will see man-on-man, elimination heats from the outset of competition this morning, resulting in a day of dramatic match-ups.

First up this morning with be 2009 ASP Dream Tour rookie Tim Boal (FRA), 26, up against compatriot Michael Picon (FRA), 30.

Heat 1: Tim Boal (FRA) vs. Michael Picon (FRA)
Heat 2: Jay Thompson (AUS) vs. Nathaniel Curran (USA)
Heat 3: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Nic Muscroft (AUS)
Heat 4: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Phillip MacDonald (AUS)
Heat 5: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Marlon Lipke (DEU)
Heat 6: Chris Ward (USA) vs. Torrey Meister (HAW)
Heat 7: Dustin Barca (HAW) vs. Sean Holmes (ZAF)
Heat 8: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) vs. Ryan Payne (ZAF)
Heat 9: Tim Reyes (USA) vs. Devyn Mattheys (ZAF)
Heat 10: Dayyan Neve (AUS) vs. Heath Joske (AUS)
Heat 11: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Greg Emslie (ZAF)
Heat 12: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. David Weare (ZAF)
Heat 13: Aritz Aranburu (EUK) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 14: Jihad Khodr (BRA) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)
Heat 15: Tiago Pires (PRT) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)
Heat 16: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)

Heat 1: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 2: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. TBA
Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. TBA
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. TBA
Heat 5: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 6: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 7: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 10: Mick Campbell (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 11: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. TBA
Heat 13: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 14: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 15: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 16: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA

Jadson André 

Brazilian Jadson Andre ripped on this Saturday at ASP WQS 6-Star Maresia Surf International, the stylish goofy-footer’s now placed atop the ratings in the hunt for the ASP WQS Tour title and qualification for the prestigious ASP World Tour. Andre grabbed first place from Australian Daniel Ross after winning two heats and advancing to tomorrow’s Quarterfinals.

This cold Saturday had heavy storm weather and strong winds with two-to-three foot (0.5-1 metre) waves. WIth surfers needing to find the best waves to advance, the new ASP WQS leader, Brazilian Jadson Andre was on fire in the waves of Mole Beach at Florianopolis.

"I try do not think too much in the rankings right now," Andre said. "I’m just so stoked. I had the best heat so far in the event and that is what I want, surf heat by heat, do the tactics right and get some waves to reach the Final."

Andre also preferred not to comment about the qualification to the ASP World Tour for 2010.

"This is my main goal, but I don’t want to think about that right now because we got only half of the year and a lot of things can happen," Andre said. "I do not want to repeat mistakes that many have done and lose my position in the last events, so let’s take this to the end of the year."

Andre and another three Brazilians advanced to the Quarterfinals, which will open Sunday’s decisive day of the Maresia Surf International in Santa Catarina State. The experienced and ex-top surfer Brazilian Neco Padaratz and two other talents of the new generation Miguel Pupo and Gabriel Medina. Neco who already won two events, sponsored by Maresia Surfwear, will face Jadson on the Quarterfinal 4.