Kelly Slater drops to elimination round 2 in the 2009 Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro 

Day 2 of the Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro, Stop No. 4 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, has awoken to another morning of clean four-to-six foot (2 metre) waves on offer at Praia Vila, prompting event organizers to call the elimination Round 2 on starting at 8am.

“We have similar conditions to yesterday in terms of swell but the sun is shining and the conditions are projected to be a bit cleaner today,” Perry Hatchett, ASP Head Judge said. “We’ll be starting Round 2 at 8am and looking to complete the round by day’s end.”

Yesterday’s Round 1 saw current ASP World Tour ratings’ frontrunners Joel Parkinson (AUS), 28, Mick Fanning (AUS), 28, and Taj Burrow (AUS), 31, all smash their way to victories as well as upsets by Tim Reyes (USA), 27, Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), 23, and Chris Davidson (AUS), 32.

Kelly Slater (USA), 37, reigning nine-time ASP World Champion and current ASP World No. 25, was relegated to the elimination Round 2 yesterday by the Californian Reyes. After three consecutive 17th place finishes this season, Slater will look to get past wildcard Bernardo Miranda (BRA) in today’s Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro Round 2 action.

When Hang Loose Santa Catarina Pro competition recommences, first up will be former ASP World Champion (2001) and current ASP World No. 4 C.J. Hobgood (USA), 29, battling wildcard Guilherme Ferreira (BRA) in Heat 1 of Round 2.


Jeff Clark

“Over the past several years, it has been obvious that my vision and priorities are not in line with those of Mavericks Surf Ventures. I have had in the past, and continue to have, strong differences of opinion with the present CEO and Board about the direction, image and priorities of the company and the contest.

“The press release issued by Mavericks Surf Ventures this week stating that I ‘stepped down’ and I am ‘passing the torch to the next generation’ is wrong. The reality is that I was ousted as Contest Director by the current CEO.

“I must also note that, while the company’s news release states that this year’s contest will be held to celebrate ‘the 35th anniversary of Jeff Clark’s first session at the now world-famous break,’ the 35th anniversary is actually next season, in 2010-11. I will not allow the company to use my accomplishment as a marketing tactic.

“Effective today, I have resigned from the Board of Directors of Mavericks Surf Ventures.

“My vision for the Mavericks Surf Contest has been unwavering: it is about the family of big wave surfers, the spirit of the ocean, and this amazing wave. I never wanted that to be compromised for the sake of money or marketing opportunities. I think that focus is obvious to anyone who knows me or who has seen my priorities over the years.

“Mavericks has been an integral part of my personal and professional life for more than 30 years, and I hope that it continues to be a part of both in the future.


Bruce Brown 

The 2009 Surfers’ Hall of Fame induction ceremony pays tribute to three generations of waterman, all of whom have made an indelible mark on the sport, industry and culture of surfing. 

This year’s eclectic class features a Pipeline Masters champion and Quiksilver USA co-founder (Jeff Hakman), a documentary film director and early pioneer of surf films (Bruce Brown) and the co-star of Endless Summer II and former World Tour standout (Pat O’Connell).

The 12th annual Surfers’ Hall of Fame ceremony will be held at 10 a.m. on Friday, July 24 in front of Huntington Surf & Sport (corner of PCH and Main).

“I am super stoked on this year’s Inductees into the Surfers’ Hall of Fame: Jeff Hakman, Bruce Brown and Pat O’Connell,” said Surfers’ Hall of Fame founder, Aaron Pai.  “Each of them has had a major influence on our Sport of Surfing. 

Each of them has created moments in surfing history that we all will remember in years to come; whether it be Jeff Hakman surfing Sunset Beach, Bruce Brown showing us some of the best waves in the world for the first time or Pat O’Connell surfing all over the globe in the movie Endless Summer II.”

Annually, tens of thousands of visitors to Huntington Beach’s downtown area literally walk in the footsteps of surfing superstars and legends from several eras including Laird Hamilton, Mike Doyle, Jack O’Neill, Robert August, Greg Noll, Jericho Poppler, Kelly Slater, Lisa Andersen, Martin Potter, Al Merrick, Shaun Tomson and Rob Machado who are already immortalized in cement.