Drysuits: heavier and warmer | Photo: ION Products

Surfers, divers, kayakers, and watermen in general have asked the question. We'll try to explain. And it is quite easy to understand the difference between wetsuits and drysuits. It's all in their names.

Water temperature is the main reason you should get a drysuit instead of a wetsuit. A drysuit is made from layers of insulating synthetic materials (neoprene and nylon might be included) that will prevent the user from making contact with the water.

Its waterproof seals and zippers will protect the wearer from very low air and water temperatures, i.e., weather conditions below 50°F (10°C). In a drysuit, your body will never touch water at all.

Read more ...

Surf ear plugs: protect yourself and avoid the surfers' ear | Photo: Surf Ears

If you're surfing for more than a decade, then you must read this article. Have you ever heard of surfers' ear or exostosis? Protect your ears before it is too late.

First advice: don't watch surgical footage of an abnormal bone growth removal from the ear canal. You'll freak out even knowing the whole process requires a general anesthesia.

Surfers' ear is caused by the cold wind and water. With time, and exposure to adverse weather conditions, your ear canal gets constricted and traps water and wax. As a result, you'll develop infections, otitis and, in the worst cases, deafness.

Read more ...

Daniel Kereopa: surprise, surprise | Photo: Cory Scott

Daniel Kereopa has taken out the stand up paddleboard division of The Ultimate Waterman 2015, held on the Otago Peninsula.

The wave rider from New Zealand surprised everyone with a flawless performance in the 45-minute final. Kereopa scored a Perfect 10 wave for a big hook in the pocket, a quick barrel and two turns.

"I got some great advice from my long time mentor Geoff Hutchison who told me I needed much more urgency in my heats and that is the approach I took today to get my first wave early in the final," revealed Kereopa.

Read more ...