Long Beach, NYC: ASP is in town | Photo: Quiksilver Pro New York

The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) will open a new office in New York City.

Mark Noonan, the newly-appointed Chief Commercial Officer (CCO) at ASP International, will be in charge of developing and staffing the organization's new office in New York City.

"Planting a flag in the media and marketing capital of the world, New York City, is a natural extension of this growth and places professional surfing in line with all major sporting leagues in terms of proximity to major partnership opportunities," explains Paul Speaker, CEO at the Association of Surfing Professionals.


Mick Fanning: a perfect final at J-Bay | Photo: ASP/Kirstin

Mick Fanning defeated Joel Parkinson to conquer the 2014 J-Bay Open in pristine eight-to-ten foot waves, at Jeffreys Bay, South Africa.

The road to the final was a tough one for the Australian friends. With strong winds blowing, low temperatures and long paddle outs, Fanning and Parkinson had a few strong names to dethrone before the final clash.

Mick opened the day with victories over Freddy Patacchia, Alejo Muniz and Owen Wright. Joel defeated an in-form Adriano de Souza, and the surprise of the season, Matt Wilkinson, with a Perfect 10 in his bag.


Jeremy Flores: unhappy

Jeremy Flores has been suspended from competition until August 27, 2014.

The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) has decided to keep the French surfer out of competition until the 2014 Hurley Pro at Trestles.

Jeremy Flores will miss the 2014 Billabong Pro Teahupoo and the US Open of Surfing for storming the judging tower during the J-Bay Open 2014, at Jeffreys Bay.