Caetano Vargas: newcomer gets the dollars

Once again the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) 4-Star SuperSurf International was taken by a newcomer, this time two new faces made the Final. Caetano Vargas, 22, from Parana took his first ASP event at the SuperSurf Internacional over Magno Pacheco, 21, from Sao Paulo.

In the Semifinals, both surfers defeated the favorites Renato Galvao and David do Carmo early in the morning of this Sunday. The competition started today with three surfers from Sao Paulo and one surfer from Parana, with the last wining the contest. On the semifinal Caetano defeated the two times Brazilian champion Renato Galvao.


Beyrick De Vries: he's from Umhlanga

Beyrick De Vries (Umhlanga) ran away with the biggest title in South African Pro Junior Surfing, claiming the 6A Surfing South Africa Mr Price Pro Ballito by defeating Chad Du Toit (Dbn) today.

A standout from start to finish, netting the event’s highest scores to reach the final, De Vries rode a wave of confidence producing another spectacular performance to pocket the R12 000 winners cheque.

“I’m on top of the world right now,” De Vries said after his win. “I saw the way Chad was surfing throughout the event and I knew that it would be the two of us in the final. He almost came back in the end there but luckily I got the best waves and the best scores.”


Max Ayshford: an open champion

As the curtain closed on the 2010 NSW Open Surfmasters Titles, five more prestigious state titles were awarded today as scores soared high at Werri Beach.

Having seen the best 200 age surfers congregating upon the Kiama region over the last four days, memorable performances and epic conditions headlined the entire event – none more so than Open Men’s champion Max Ayshford (Matraville, NSW).

Defeating Rhys Bombaci (Kiama, NSW), Matt Jones (Yamba, NSW) and Toby Martin (Mona Vale, NSW) who finished second, third and fourth respectively, Ayshford was in the most sparkling of form.