Felicity Palmateer: over the top with full concentration

The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) sanctioned Chill Pro Junior was completed today at Trigg Point in WA, with Perth’s premier surf location delivering clean 1-2 feet swell, for what was a perfect day of finals with light offshore winds and sunny skies bringing people from far and wide to see the action unfold.

The Chill Pro Junior presented by the City of Stirling was a feast for the spectators, as twin the he best surf of the event was saved for the finals where some true high performance surfing shone through, with all finalists stepping up to the challenge.

In a fairy tale finish, Jack Freestone (Coolangatta, QLD) claimed his maiden ASP Australasia Pro Junior win, and local girl Felicity Palmateer (Hillarys, WA) claimed back to back Chill Pro Junior wins, and her second win on the 2010 Pro Junior Series.

Read more ...

Greg Emslie: the President of South Africa

The 2010 Border surf team brought glory to East London when they wiped out the opposition on the final day of the 2010 SA Surfing Championships to take the coveted Presidents Cup as well as the other two team trophies on offer.

Central KZN, the 2009 President’s Cup winners, were second overall some 1,500 points behind Border. Hosts Southern KZN came third ahead of Eastern Province, Western Province, Zululand, Boland and Southern Cape.

Read more ...

Russel Winter: salted victory

Russell Winter is the new Saltrock Open Champion. The final took place in clean, 3 ft sets in a sun soaked Croyde and brought to an end a hard fought and very well supported competition.

Russell, who is originally from London but now calls Newquay home has been the English, British and European surfing champion and is generally regarded as Britain’s most successful surfer. He is a regular on the UKPST and was the first European surfer to qualify for the WCT tour where he famously once beat Kelly Slater in a heat at Sunset Beach in Hawaii.

Read more ...