2009 South American Beach Games

Dressed up with their Olympic National outfits the 36 surfers that will participate in the first edition of the South American Beach Games arrived today in Uruguay.

They’re looking forward to the medals and the honor of participating in this historic first South American Beach Games that will be held from December 9 to 13 in the waves of Montoya, Punta del Este, Uruguay.

Argentina, Brazil, Ecuador, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela will compete with strong full teams looking forward to win the medals in the following four divisions: Open Men, Open Women, Aloha Cup (Tag Team) and Air Show.

Some big surfing names will be participating in the Games. This include ISA Junior World Champions Jadson André and Alejo Muniz from Brazil; Latin American Champions Martín Passeri from Argentina, Francisco Bellorín and Rafael Pereira both from Venezuela, along with Pan American Champions Javier Swayne and Gabriel Aramburu from Peru.


Mick Fanning or Joel Parkinson? Who will win the 2009 ASP World Tour?

After nine events on the 2009 ASP Dream Tour, the race for the ASP World Title will culminate in a showdown between two lifelong friends at the final event of the season, the Billabong Pipeline Masters from December 8 – 20, 2009.

Mick Fanning (AUS), 28, former ASP World Champion (2007) and current ASP World No. 1, will face Gold Coast stable mate and current ASP World No. 2, Joel Parkinson (AUS), 28, in the hunt for the 2009 ASP World Title as the two battle a minefield of the world’s best surfers and Pipe specialists at the Billabong Pipeline Masters.

“It’s been a few years since the ASP Title has come down to Pipe and I’m really stoked that it’s between myself and Joel (Parkinson),” Fanning said. “I guess it’s like a dream come true coming down to Pipeline and I’m really excited. There isn’t going to be any sand on the reef and hopefully we get a couple of really good days.”


2009 Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau

Contestants of the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau, fueled by Monster Energy, were calling the waves at Waimea Bay today bigger than any contested the past three times this event ran. But organizers opted to employ patience and wait for tomorrow as surface conditions are forecast to improve with wave size continuing in the giant range. Wave face heights were in the 25- to 40-foot range today and rising. It made for a dramatic warm-up that thousands flocked to the North Shore of Oahu to witness.

The single lane highway that runs the stretch of the North Shore was bumper-to-bumper by sunrise. Many made the pilgrimage on foot and bicycle late last night, sleeping under the stars to catch the action early.

The invitees to the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau weren't far behind them and headed out at dawn into the salt-spray, mist-filled lineup in search of the "big one".