Xcel Supertubes: sepia surf spot

The Xcel Pro Showdown at Supertubes has finalized an exciting invitee list, as the May 1st kick-off to the month-long waiting period approaches.

Returning to Supertubes are last year's finalists Ryan Payne ('09 champion); Warren Dean, Deon Lategan, and Stan Badger.

A heat draw will be announced April 29th from Jeffreys Bay.

"I'm super stoked and privileged," said Lategan on news of his invitation. "I think that it's right that a Supers specialist gets into the mix at the Von Zipper trials, and the Xcel Pro Supertubes provides that platform."

Read more ...

Coco Ho: surfer of the future generation

Round 3 of the TSB Bank Women's Surf Festival was completed today in solid three-to-five foot (1 - 1.5 metre) waves at the primary site of Fitzroy Beach.

The third stop on 2010 ASP Women's World Tour, the TSB Bank Women's Surf Festival completed the opening two rounds of competition at a remote location along the Surf Highway 45 on Tuesday, but today's solid conditions at Fitzroy Beach lent themselves to the world's best female surfers showcasing an impressive array power surfing.

Read more ...

Sam Lamiroy: very nice critical move

The O'Neill Cold Water Classic (CWC) Scotland an Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) 6-Star men’s event ran through the final 8 heats of round one and set the scene for the start of round 2 with the remaining 96 seeded surfers.

With a light northerly breeze coming off the Artic circle conditions were extremely cold both in and out of the water with low cloud cover throughout the day. Consistent 3-4ft (1-1.2m) waves were hitting the reef at Brims Ness offering a clean right-hand peak for the competitors to work off.

Read more ...