Peter Paris: charger

Clean Break is about breaking away from the every day and getting “re-charged”.

It's a six episode series designed for the web, where we have tapped two guys to travel around in search of the most adrenaline pumping action water sports - inspiring them to just let go and live in the moment.

The two are met by a local guide from the designated areas who show them around to the local hot spots, hidden gems, and cultural hang-outs that make those areas a great place to visit and re-fuel your spirit.

In total they traveled to six different cities, participating in six different sports:

Kiteboarding in San Diego, CA
Surfing in Venice Beach, CA
Whitewater Rafting in Kernville, CA
Windsurfing in Hood River, OR
River Kayaking & Rip Boarding in Aspen, CO
Wakeboarding in Orlando, FL

Sea Paddle NYC: SUP between tall towers

Less than thirty days remain until stand-up paddlers from around the world converge on Manhattan’s waterways for the 4th Annual SEA Paddle NYC.

As participants continue to register and train for the 28-mile charity paddle around Manhattan, organized by Surfers’ Environmental Alliance (SEA), key figures in the surf, stand-up paddle and entertainment industries have come on board in support of SEA and the paddle’s eight autism beneficiaries.

This year, avid waterman, extreme sports extraordinaire and environmental advocate Tom Jones is not only joining industry legends for the paddle around New York, but is in the process of making history leading up to SEA Paddle NYC. Jones is currently traveling the 2,800-mile stretch between Key West and New York City via paddle board to advocate for a plastic-free ocean.

Now along the coast of the Carolinas, he should arrive in New York just in time for a celebration paddle around Manhattan with SEA’s 200-plus participants. If successful, Jones will break his own previous World Record for paddling 1,200 miles along California’s coast.

In addition, Israel “Izzy” Paskowitz, founder of Surfers Healing, one of SEA’s charity beneficiaries, returns for a second time to paddle alongside surf legend Joel Tudor, actor David Chokachi and Extreme Suring World Champ Garrett McNamara. One of Hawaii’s elite big-wave chargers, McNamara has paddled, been towed and stand-up paddled into some of the largest and deadliest waves on the planet. From the “Jaws” of Maui to the Tahitian beasts at Teahupo as well as into the tsunami-generated waves of Alaska, “Gmac” has ridden it all.

Jamie Mitchell, one of the world’s premier ocean athletes has signed on for SEA’s first-ever Elite race around Manhattan. The Australian-born waterman, big-wave surfer and international swell-chaser is an eight-time Molokai-2-Oahu paddling champion. Having won nearly every paddle race he has entered in the last eight years, Mitchell promises to bring his paddling prowess to the inaugural Elite race.

After the world-class watermen and industry greats complete their journey around Manhattan, they’ll join paddlers, family and friends for SEA’s Ultimate Beach Party at South Street Seaport’s Water Taxi Beach starting at 3:00 p.m. The good times will continue on the third-floor viewing decks of the Seaport for SEA’s biggest party of the year, the White Water Evening. Boasting the Brooklyn Bridge as the backdrop, White Water partygoers will celebrate the paddle and honor this year’s beneficiaries with silent auctions, a charity poker tournament, live music, an award ceremony and much more.

This year marks the first time SEA will host its renowned fundraising after-parties in Manhattan.

Keep Surfing: a river wave party

"Keep Surfing" tells the story of an unlikely passion in a place that a large part of the world only knows as Oktoberfest City.

Munich, the town of beer drinkers and pretzel lovers, has become the home of a surfing crowd of urban individualists who pursue their dream of happiness by riding a river wave far from the ocean.

"Keep Surfing" portrays six surfers of the Eisbach hardcore, who master the river waves while pursuing their own individual goals in life. Among the older guys is Dieter "The Eater," who was among the first to discover river surfing in the late 60s and still rides the waves every day with his two grown daughters.

And Walter, the "janitor of the Eisbach," a working-class philosopher who discovered a way to keep the wave surging for 24 hours a day and who now lives as a kind of lone wolf and didgeridoo maker near a small beach in Sardinia, where he rides his own wave every day.

Belonging to the younger generation is golden boy Quirin Rohleder, who started riding the Munich river wave on a boogie board and has become a surf pro living and global nomad – even though his heart still beats for Munich, especially when he returns to the wave where everything started.

Among the foreigners who joined the local community is surf punk Eli Mack, for whom river surfing is a way back to the roots of surfing and to a better self. But also surf legends like Kelly Slater, Ross Clark Jones and Taylor Knox have tried their luck on the Munich river wave.

"Keep Surfing" is an ode to individual freedom and to the people who've achieved happiness on a river wave, where they can go against the flow and find their place in life. Check the movie trailer.