Zac Efron: another Hollywood actor understanding the pleasures of surfing

Hollywood star Zac Efron has caused panic in a Sydney beach after having surfed some waves in front of hundreds of crazy fans.

The actor of "High School Musical" joined girlfriend Vanessa Hudgens, pro surfers Layne Beachley and Tom Whitaker at the Oakley's "Learn To Ride" surfing session.

Zac Efron was in Bondi Beach for 30 minutes in this event held to aid OneSight Foundation.

Read more ...

Surf skiing: Jason Starr invented what everyone thought of but never made it

Have your ever imagined how would it feel to ski waves? Well, there's a man who thought of it and invented a new sport: surf skiing. Jason Starr, a news journalist from Massachusetts and a certified professional ski and snowboard instructor, created a brand new way of challenging waves.

For the founder of Starr Surf Skis, waves are just like mountains and lakes similar to cross country terrain. But, at first glance, it might not be so easy. Could you imagine paddling and duck diving? It is hard, but surely not impossible.

Read more ...

Schroff Surfboards: do your remember the early 80's ads?

If you surfed in the 80s you either rode a surfboard designed by Peter Schroff, knew someone who did, or you wanted one. Schroff Surfboards is back and Peter is back in Costa Mesa shaping on the 1800 block of Westminster Avenue.

In 2010, Peter Schroff is shaping a completely new line of surfboards that are just as groundbreaking in function and style as ever. According to Peter, today’s surfboard scene is in need of some excitement and identity.

In addition to the most aggressive twin fins and quads available on the planet, Schroff has created a shape called The “Mini Model” that explores the new standard that Kelly Slater has set in terms of board length and a shorter “Egg” style shape that will empower mature, skilled surfers to shred in knee-to-overhead conditions without riding the longer “big guy” short board or a “fun board.”

Read more ...