Mickey February

Epic surf and the world's up-and-coming junior surf stars produced an unforgettable day at the 2010 edition of the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in New Zealand today.

And what a show it was. With only two days to go in the prestigious tournament, competitors hit their straps, shredding apart the barreling 6-8ft (1.5-2m) waves that marched through for day six of competition at Piha Beach.

USA surfing sensation Kolohe Andino dealt with the pressure in a consummate fashion, setting the standard for the day with both the highest individual wave score (9.25) and two-wave heat total (18.00) in his main event round 4 of the Under 16 Boys´ heat.

Read more ...

Mitch Crews

Semi-finalists have been decided as the 2010 Grade – 5 Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) Hurley Burleigh Pro Junior presented by Nike 6.0 prepares to enter its final day of competition tomorrow.

For the third straight day, contest organisers were forced to relocate the event from its primary site at Burleigh Heads to the Southport Spit (Gold Coast, Qld), with contestable 0.5-1m waves providing the perfect platform for competitors to display an exciting array of maneuvers.

An overall event winner is set to be crowned amidst the celebrations of Australia Day tomorrow and after four days of intense competitive surfing action, only four competitors remain – And, they’re all Australian.

Read more ...

Martin Jeri

The 2010 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship continued to roll on today, January 25, with blue skies and clean conditions served up for a mixed bag of international talent in Piha, New Zealand.

The world's hottest up-and-coming surfers utilized their full competition repertoires, blending rail-to-rail carves, with new-age, fins-free moves and an innovative aerial game in the fun 3 to 5ft (1.5m) beach break conditions on offer.

The main event podium was alive with exciting action from the opening siren, with the Under 18 and 16 Boys Main Event Round 3 heats being run, before the Under 18 and 16 Boys Repercharge 3 heats hit the water.

The second podium was also throwing out some futuristic action, with the opening three rounds of the Under 18 Girls Repercharge being run, as well as the qualifying round three of the girls division.

Read more ...