Taylor Jensen: stylish longboarder

Californians Taylor Jensen (Oceanside, CA), 26, and Lindsay Steinriede (Dana Point, CA), 24, won the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) Longboard Qualifying Series (LQS) 1-Star WLA Pro presented by Kicker over an impressive list of global talent at South Huntington Beach Pier in peaky two-to-four foot (1 metre) surf.

Surfers compete on the ASP LQS in hopes to finish within the top of their regional ratings to eventually qualify for the ASP World Longboard Tour (WLT).

Read more ...

Keanu Asing: primus inter pares

Keanu Asing won the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) North America Pro Junior Series Grade-3 Arnette All Day Antics Pro Junior while securing the highest heat total of the entire event, a 16.67 out of 20, over fellow finalists Evan Geiselman, Hawaiian Albee Layer, and Kolohe Andino.

The Arnette Pro Junior’s ASP Grade-3 status offers heightened points towards qualification for the inaugural ASP World Junior Tour. Once qualified each surfer earns the right to combat the highest field of competitive global talent for the title of ASP World Junior Champion.

Read more ...

Conspicuous Beach: great whites are watching you

A shark has attacked a surfer at Conspicuous Beach, on Western Australia's south coast.

The animal knocked the surfer off his board and has severely injured the man's leg. When he got to the sand, his friends used the surfboard leash to stop the bleeding.

The type of shark has not been identified, but the great whites are very common in this area.

Read more ...