Kelly Slater's  

On Thursday 6th August 2009, the new Kelly Slater film Cloud 9 will be premiered at the 2009 Relentless Boardmasters, on Fistral Beach in Newquay.

The 52 minute documentary film featuring footage and in-depth interviews with Quiksilver pro surfer and 9 times World Champion Kelly Slater, also stars skateboarding legend Tony Hawk and fellow surfers Mick Fanning, Dane Reynolds, Jeremy Flores, Jeff Hakman, Mark Richards, Miky Picon, Stephen Bell, Adrian Buchan, Joel Parkinson, Taj Burrow, CJ Hobgood, and Tiago Pires who bear witness to Kelly’s incredible career.

The four times World champion Mark Richards narrates the journey. Check the trailer for Cloud 9.

With 8 world titles to his name by 2006, Kelly Slater was considered to be the Tiger Woods or Tony Hawk of surfing.  When Kelly, who was the youngest ever World champion at just 20 years old, decided to seek an historic 9th World title at the age of 35, his place in the sporting hall of fame was secured. Cloud 9 follows the two-year campaign leading up to Kelly Slater’s historic 9th world title.

The captivating story follows Kelly Slater’s battle for the title and takes the audience back to his humble roots in Cocoa Beach, Florida, offering a spectacular insight into the mindset of the young Kelly Slater and what drove him from an early age, to succeed. Kelly reveals what still drives him on to compete across generations and reach such peaks of performance.

As well as seeing some of the best waves at some of the most beautiful locations on the planet, Cloud 9 takes us backstage, capturing the highs and lows of life on the World Tour. 


Gabi Rowe 

In the first leg of the Rip Curl Pro Women’s Event at Croyde beach, Gabi Rowe from Port Issac defeated the rest of the field to take the advantage. Second place went to Gwen Spurlock of Swansea and third Lucy Campbell of Woolacombe, in her first Women’s event.

The Rip Curl Girls Tour will now move on to the second and final leg at Porthmeor Beach St Ives. It will take place over the next two days and with a good forecast for swell will be an exciting finale to the UK Rip Curl Women’s Tour. 

This year the tour featured a series of Women’s surfing contests in England and Wales. Two of these events; Croyde and St Ives combined to make a two star event on the Women’s UK Pro Surf Tour, with £1,000 prize money available. The surfer who accumulates the most points over these two competitions will win the only two star women’s event on the UK Pro Surf tour.

In addition to the Pro events each venue has hosted a Newbie event. If the girls have not competed in a surf contest before they have had the opportunity to compete for the first time against surfers with the same experience as themselves. The finalists of these events went into these events went into the draw against the top Pro Surfers in the UK along with winning prizes from Rip Curl and the other sponsors.


Rip Curl Invitational at Padang Padang 

An elite group of high-stakes tube riders is set to gather at Bali’s most revered wave this weekend. The opening ceremony for the Rip Curl Cup Invitational at Padang Padang will he held on Saturday, Aug. 1, the first day of the month-long event waiting period.

Rip Curl International team riders Dean Brady (Australia), Bruno Santos (Brazil) and Koa Smith (Hawaii) are slated to compete in the event along with such international stars as Bruce Irons (Hawaii), Ry Craike (Australia) and Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii).

All 32 surfers invited to compete in this year’s event will be on hand Saturday for the official heat drawing ceremony. Each surfer will choose a number out of a hat to determine who he will surf against in the opening round. Once the draw has been set, it’s simply a matter of waiting for a massive Indian Ocean swell to stir the mythical wave at Padang to life. Following is the official list of invited surfers.

International surfers: Bruce Irons (Hawaii), Mikala Jones (Hawaii), Dean Brady (Australia), Bruno Santos (Brazil), Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii), Ryan Turner (California), Timmy Turner (California), Koa Smith (Hawaii), Ry Craike (Australia), Koby Abberton (Australia), Takayuki Wakita (Japan), Marlon Gerber (Switzerland) and Danny Fuller (Hawaii).