Kelly Slaters surfed with a door for Sports Illustrated

The article "Ready for the Next Wave", by award-winning SI senior writer Gary Smith, has been published in this week's issue of Sports Illustrated and features 9-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater surfing with... a door.

Smith followed legendary surfer Kelly Slater from coast to coast - from a photo shoot in New York to his home in Santa Barbara - and discovered a man who was candid and thoughtful, one who was intent on figuring himself out in addition to harboring aspirations of "carrying surfing from a niche sport, seen mostly on the Internet, toward the mainstream.

Kelly could be the Michael Jordan and David Stern of his sport - the iconic athlete doing aerials and 360s and the power broker trying to change the structure and marketing of his sport."

O’Neill Cold Water Classic Scotland

The O’Neill Cold Water Classic (CWC) Scotland by Swatch, an Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS) 6-Star Prime event, entered its 8-day waiting period today welcoming some of surfing’s best professional athletes at Thurso for the kick off of the world’s northern based event on the ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS).

The inconsistent surf on offer at either Brims Ness or the world famous righthander of Thurso East forced officials to postpone the start of competition until tomorrow morning when another call is made at 7 AM by O’Neill Cold Water Classic Series contest director Matt Wilson (AUS) with reasonable chances to see the expected new swell supposed to hit Northern Scotland show its first pulses for Day 2.

With 120 surfers having made the trip to Thurso to try and seize the valuable ratings’ points on offer and US$ 145 000 up for grabs, the O’Neill Cold Water Classic (CWC) Scotland will witness world class action with event top seed and ASP Top 45 rookie Drew Courtney (AUS), 20, leading the favorites’ charge while current ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS) ratings’ No. 1 Owen Wright (AUS), 19, will be ready to extend his lead over close followers.

Defending champion Adam Robertson (AUS), 26, will be back out in the renowned cold waters of Scotland when Round 2 paddles out, the Victorian based competitor looking to keep-up his exceptional form that saw him make the final of the last ASP World Tour event at Bells Beach after making it through the trials and defeating several Dream Tour leaders on his way.

With former ASP World Champion and last year’s O’Neill CWC Scotland equal 5th Sunny Garcia (HAW), 2008 runner-up Adam Melling (AUS), O’Neill team riders Jarrad Howse (AUS) and Hugo Savalli (REU) as well as Europe’s rising stars Joan Duru (FRA) and Marc Lacomare (FRA) all attending the event, the set-up is ready for another spectacular edition.

The O’Neill Cold Water Classic Scotland is the second event of five on this year’s O’Neill Cold Water Classic Series and offers valuable 3500 ratings’ points to the winner counting for the qualification towards next year’s ASP World Tour.

Heat 1: Wiggoly Dantas (BRA), Jayce Robinson (GBR), Alex Gray (USA)
Heat 2: Sunny Garcia (HAW), Yujiro Tsuji (JPN), Mark Cameron (SCO), Yuzuru Tanaka (JPN)
Heat 3: Jay Davies (AUS), Omer Bar (ISR), Ryah Arthur (USA)
Heat 4: Marco Giorgi (URY), Alejandro Moreda (PRI), Micheal Bailey (USA)
Heat 5: Heath Joske (AUS), Angelo Lozano (MEX), Chris Davis (USA)
Heat 6: Matt Mohagen (USA), Gordon Fontaine (FRA), Haritz Mendiluze (EUK), Georgie Watts (SCO)
Heat 7: Madison Williams (AUS), Luca Guichard (DNK), Matt Capel (GBR), Eduardo Fernandes (PRT)
Heat 8: Luke Munro (AUS), Freddie Meadows (SWE), Matt Johnson (USA)
Heat 9: Lyncoln Taylor (AUS), Travis Beckmann (USA), Brandon Roberts (ZAF)
Heat 10: Alek Parker (USA), Damien Chaudoy (REU), Ricardo Lange (DEU), Micah Lester (AUS)
Heat 11: Marc Lacomare (FRA), Jason Harris (USA), Jensen Callaway (USA)
Heat 12: Bobby Hansen (NZL), Reubyn Ash (GBR), Jose Trujillo (MEX)
Heat 13: Richard Christie (NZL), Seam Holmes (ZAF), Josie Graves (PRI)
Heat 14: Daniel Redman (ZAF), Will Tant (USA), Joe Tanaka (JPN)
Heat 15: Jano Belo (BRA), Alan Stokes (GBR), Shota Nakamura (JPN), Mark Harris (GBR)
Heat 16: Manuel Selman (CHL), Andrew Bennett (USA), Sam Lamiroy (GBR)


The Endless Summer 

NYSFF will host a special screening of Bruce Brown’s "The Endless Summer" (1964) as a part of the 2009 festival program. Now in its second year, the New York Surf Film Festival is proud to continue the tradition of providing New York City audiences the opportunity to view timeless cult classic surf films alongside the latest releases from independent surf filmmakers.

Both directed and written by Bruce Brown, "The Endless Summer" is the search for the perfect wave. On any day of the year it’s summer somewhere in the world.

Bruce Brown’s color film highlights the adventures of two young American surfers, Robert August and Mike Hynson who follow this everlasting summer around the world. Their unique expedition takes them to Senegal, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, New Zealand, Tahiti, Hawaii and California.