Greg Emslie: the President of South Africa

The 2010 Border surf team brought glory to East London when they wiped out the opposition on the final day of the 2010 SA Surfing Championships to take the coveted Presidents Cup as well as the other two team trophies on offer.

Central KZN, the 2009 President’s Cup winners, were second overall some 1,500 points behind Border. Hosts Southern KZN came third ahead of Eastern Province, Western Province, Zululand, Boland and Southern Cape.

Read more ...

Russel Winter: salted victory

Russell Winter is the new Saltrock Open Champion. The final took place in clean, 3 ft sets in a sun soaked Croyde and brought to an end a hard fought and very well supported competition.

Russell, who is originally from London but now calls Newquay home has been the English, British and European surfing champion and is generally regarded as Britain’s most successful surfer. He is a regular on the UKPST and was the first European surfer to qualify for the WCT tour where he famously once beat Kelly Slater in a heat at Sunset Beach in Hawaii.

Read more ...

Tow-In: authorities are nice in Australia | Photo: Shalom Jacobovitz

Tow-in surfers from Western Australia have reasons to be happy. The official safety procedures require a spotter behind the jet ski driver, but the Department of Transport is exempting tow-in surfing rules for another 12 months.

The authorities believe everything is OK with the sport and everyone seems to have full respect for the general nautical rules and laws.

Read more ...