Jeff Clark

“Over the past several years, it has been obvious that my vision and priorities are not in line with those of Mavericks Surf Ventures. I have had in the past, and continue to have, strong differences of opinion with the present CEO and Board about the direction, image and priorities of the company and the contest.

“The press release issued by Mavericks Surf Ventures this week stating that I ‘stepped down’ and I am ‘passing the torch to the next generation’ is wrong. The reality is that I was ousted as Contest Director by the current CEO.

“I must also note that, while the company’s news release states that this year’s contest will be held to celebrate ‘the 35th anniversary of Jeff Clark’s first session at the now world-famous break,’ the 35th anniversary is actually next season, in 2010-11. I will not allow the company to use my accomplishment as a marketing tactic.

“Effective today, I have resigned from the Board of Directors of Mavericks Surf Ventures.

“My vision for the Mavericks Surf Contest has been unwavering: it is about the family of big wave surfers, the spirit of the ocean, and this amazing wave. I never wanted that to be compromised for the sake of money or marketing opportunities. I think that focus is obvious to anyone who knows me or who has seen my priorities over the years.

“Mavericks has been an integral part of my personal and professional life for more than 30 years, and I hope that it continues to be a part of both in the future.


Bruce Brown 

The 2009 Surfers’ Hall of Fame induction ceremony pays tribute to three generations of waterman, all of whom have made an indelible mark on the sport, industry and culture of surfing. 

This year’s eclectic class features a Pipeline Masters champion and Quiksilver USA co-founder (Jeff Hakman), a documentary film director and early pioneer of surf films (Bruce Brown) and the co-star of Endless Summer II and former World Tour standout (Pat O’Connell).

The 12th annual Surfers’ Hall of Fame ceremony will be held at 10 a.m. on Friday, July 24 in front of Huntington Surf & Sport (corner of PCH and Main).

“I am super stoked on this year’s Inductees into the Surfers’ Hall of Fame: Jeff Hakman, Bruce Brown and Pat O’Connell,” said Surfers’ Hall of Fame founder, Aaron Pai.  “Each of them has had a major influence on our Sport of Surfing. 

Each of them has created moments in surfing history that we all will remember in years to come; whether it be Jeff Hakman surfing Sunset Beach, Bruce Brown showing us some of the best waves in the world for the first time or Pat O’Connell surfing all over the globe in the movie Endless Summer II.”

Annually, tens of thousands of visitors to Huntington Beach’s downtown area literally walk in the footsteps of surfing superstars and legends from several eras including Laird Hamilton, Mike Doyle, Jack O’Neill, Robert August, Greg Noll, Jericho Poppler, Kelly Slater, Lisa Andersen, Martin Potter, Al Merrick, Shaun Tomson and Rob Machado who are already immortalized in cement. 


Jeremy Flores 

The French Surfing Federation has announced that two of their best surfers, ASP World Tour top 45, Jeremy Flores and Mikael Picon will join their team during the upcoming Billabong ISA World Surfing Games taking place in Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica, from August 1 - 8.

By acquiring two of the best surfers in the world, France has set the standard for the rest of the international field. Will other surfing power nations follow suit? Are we going to see Kelly Slater, Bobby Martínez, CJ Hobgood and Dane Reynolds support the USA? Will we see Joel Parkinson, Taj Burrow, Mick Fanning and Bede Durbidge defending Australia? Will Andy Irons, Bruce Irons, Fred Patacchia and Kekoa Bacalso join Team Hawaii? Can Adriano de Souza, Heitor Alves, Jihad Kohdr and Jadson André help Brazil repeat their 2000 win?  

The announcement of Flores and Picon to the French National Team, made by Patrick Flores, coach of the French team and Jeremy’s father, is a strong statement indicating the serious attempt France is mounting to finally achieve the Gold Medal in Team Standings. Over the last decade, France has always placed in the top ten at the ISA World Surfing Games: 4th in 2008 at Costa de Caparica, Portugal, 6th in 2006 at Huntington Beach, USA, 7th in 2004 at Salinas, Ecuador, 4th in 2002 at Durban, South Africa, 5th in 2000 at Maracaípe, Brazil, 5th in 1998 at Carcavelos, Portugal and 6th in 1996 at Huntington Beach, USA.

This year they’re looking forward to more than Copper Medal results as obtained in Portugal and South Africa.  Surf stars like Jeremy Flores and Micky Picon significantly help their chances.