Canadian military forbids surfing in Cow Bay point break

A left-peeling point break located on property owned by the Canadian military in the Cow Bay-area is off limits to surfers, according to a military spokesperson.

“It’s for everybody’s safety. Unfortunately, that’s the way it is,” said Geri Grychowski, public affairs officer with Joint Task Force Atlantic.

According to Grychowski, soldiers regularly fire “certified small arms” at a range on the property. There is also “frequency radiation” in there area when military personnel are “working with different ships,” she said.

The military does not have any plans to announce when it will be conducting operations on the property. As such, the area is off limits to surfers at all times.

“It’s on DND (Department of National Defence) property and there’s no trespassing on DND property at any time,” she said. “You could be fined.”

DND apparently owns the shoreline as well as the water where the point break is located.

“The water is part of the range there, so (surfers) can’t be there,” said Grychowski.


Marco Fernandez | Photo by Diego Freire

It is confirmed.

Stella Maris, is the first of the beaches of the north coast of Salvador, Bahia, that will be, between 21st and 23rd of August, stage of the third of four stages of the championship “Maresia Brasileiro”, the circuit of the Brazilian Confederation of Surf (Confederação Brasileira do Surf, CBS, in portugues), which are held in six categories , Open and Junior (Under 18), with Men's and Women's divisions, Novice (U-16) and Beginner’s (U-14), many of them are basis for the participation of the Brazilian selections in different events of the International Surfing Association (ISA), an world sports organization affiliated to the International Olympic Committee (COI).

August's Surf

The month of August is a promise to the calendars of the ISA and the CBS, with its first eight days reserved for ISA Surfing Games 2009, for which the ranking after two stages of the “Maresia Brasileiro” guaranteed places to the leader of the Junior and Open, from Espiritos Santos, Kristian Kimmerson, the vice Open, from Bahia, Marco Fernandez, and, from Ceará, Estefany Freitas, for the Women's Open, which will be a companion Camila Cássia, from São Paulo, the current third position of the SuperSurf.

At Salvador, Stella Maris, will be in June the seat of stage of the SuperSurf, and that in 1987 was part of the inaugural edition of the Brazilian Professional, defining Paulo Matos, from São Paulo, the first champion in the official circuit while Fábio Gouveia repeated from amateur to win the earlier stage in Ubatuba, São Paulo, which made him integrate the Brazilian selection and the year after won the “World Surfing Title in 1998”, event that turned in to an biennial of the ISA that amounted today as the annual World Games for the 2009 edition in Jacó, Costa Rica from 1st to 8th of August.


Gavin Roberts

Competitors in the first round of the Men's and Under 20 Boys Divisions of the 2009 South Coast Tourism South African Surfing Championships were treated to typical six foot St Mikes surf on Day One of this premier Surfing South Africa event and made the best of the conditions.

In the Men\'s division Southern KZN surfers used their local knowledge to produce four heat winners in Gary Van Wieringen, Dereck Footit, Ryan Balfour and Gavin Roberts who all advanced to Round Four. Another SKZN surfer, Wynand Louw, came second and advances to Round Three.

Border secured three wins with former two time SA Champion Wayne Monk, Philip Malherbe and 2007 SA Champion Devyn Mattheys advancing to Round Four while teammate Tyrell Johnson's second place sees him in Round Three.

Josh Salie and Brandon Roberts were Round One winners for Western Province and David Richards posted a second place while Llewellyn Whittaker was the only Boland Round One winner. Teammates Peder Christensen, Johan Kriek and Mikhail Thompson secured second place finishes and will advance to Round Three alongside Paul Canning, Wes O'Driscoll, Michael Vawda and Manfred Adrio of KZN and defending champion Shaun Payne of Eastern Province.

Dylan Stone of Eastern Province won his heat and advances to Round Four as does Dylan Stewart of KZN.

First round upsets included that of WQS surfer Dan Redman of KZN who is in the repercharge round along with 2008 finalist and SA Team captain Ryan Payne of EP.