Inilek Wilmot: he wants to take the title out of his brother's hands

The second event of the Jamaica Surfing Association’s 2010 National Open Series kicked off at the Peenie Wally surfing beach at Buff Bay in Portland on Saturday 20 of February 2010.

Top Jamaican surfer Inilek Wilmot, Brother of 2009 National Open Champ Icah Wilmot, walked away with the 1000 points on offer for the second time in two events with the win and now leads the race with a perfect 2000 points in the five event series which climaxes in December.

The waves were shoulder to head high with light variable winds and provided the perfect canvas for the event to play out on.

The first round saw the lighter breeze and better waves and five fifteen minute heats of six were run to cut the field in half for the second round where three heats of five were run to select the top 9 for the semi final round.

The semi-final round saw the level of surfing go up a notch. The first heat was a matchup between Luke Williams, Akeem Taylor, Ackeam Phillips, Shama Beckford and Ivah Wilmot. The surfers caught and rode 26 waves between them in the 15 minute heat. The horn sounded and Luke took first Ackeem Taylor second and Ackeam Phillips third and all three advanced to the final.

Read more ...

Taj Burrow: flying high to clinch the Breaka Burleigh Pro

Taj Burrow (AUS) today etched his name into the history books, claiming the inaugural 2010 Association Of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS) 4-Star, Breaka Burleigh Pro.

Burrow defeated Josh Kerr (AUS), Owen Wright (AUS) and Dusty Payne (HAW) who finished second to fourth respectively in an exhilarating four-man final.

Burrow exploded out of the gates with a blistering 9.10 (out of a possible 10), going on to register a combined two-wave total of 17.30 (out of a possible 20) to Kerr’s 15.67, Wright’s 14.60 and Payne’s 8.73.

Read more ...

Doug Warbrick: huge contribution to the sport awards him a place in the Australia's Surfing Hall of Fame'

Doug Warbrick’s huge contribution to Australian surfing has finally been acknowledged with his elevation to the sport’s Hall of Fame at the Australian Surfing Awards on the southern end of the Gold Coast last night.

Surf businessman Warbrick became the 32nd member respectively of the Hall of Fame which began with the initial induction of Snow McAllister (Deceased) and 4 x World Champion Mark Richards in 1985.

Last night's awards at the Coolangatta Hotel was organised by Surfing Australia and featured a who’s who of the Australian surfing community.

Learning to surf in the 1950’s at Currumbin and Maroochydore, Warbrick founded Rip Curl in 1967 with Brian Singer.

Read more ...