Martin Jeri

The 2010 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship continued to roll on today, January 25, with blue skies and clean conditions served up for a mixed bag of international talent in Piha, New Zealand.

The world's hottest up-and-coming surfers utilized their full competition repertoires, blending rail-to-rail carves, with new-age, fins-free moves and an innovative aerial game in the fun 3 to 5ft (1.5m) beach break conditions on offer.

The main event podium was alive with exciting action from the opening siren, with the Under 18 and 16 Boys Main Event Round 3 heats being run, before the Under 18 and 16 Boys Repercharge 3 heats hit the water.

The second podium was also throwing out some futuristic action, with the opening three rounds of the Under 18 Girls Repercharge being run, as well as the qualifying round three of the girls division.

Read more ...

Newport Beach

A 35-to-40 year old surfer lost his life in Newport Beach, California. In a solid surf day, the man was spotted floating by onlookers.

Lifeguards quickly rescued the victim and tried to reanimate the man near the Newport Pier. The surfer was not breathing and was confirmed dead at the hospital.

Read more ...

The Chunnel

Kelly Slater is now testing another Channel Islands lab invention.

This board is called "The Chunnel". Why? Water is compressed over the hole. As it passes over, it draws air into the Chunnel (channel/tunnel).

It is the principal of the U class racing boats on pontoons. Each side panel is veed out with hard concaves toward the rails. Check out the pic of the hole.

How do you think this one is going to go? Will it make it’s debut at Snapper Rocks?