Nat Young 

The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS) 6-Star Hurley U.S. Open of Surfing ran the first 18 heats of the Round of 144 and saw Santa Cruz standout Nat Young, 18, crush the event’s highest scores en route to his Round of 96 berth. Reigning ASP World Junior Champion Kai Barger (Haiku, HI), 19, also displayed an impressive performance on the way to his heat win.

All surfers competing at this year’s Hurley U.S. Open are not only looking to take advantage of the crucial ratings points on offer towards qualification for a spot on the 2010 ASP World Tour, but are also out to claim the historic winner-take-all US$100,000 prize purse which Hurley has put up for this year’s main event winner.

Young utilized his deadly backhand attack on a Huntington righthander to blast the event’s top single wave score of 9.47 out of 10 with three massive beyond-vertical turns. The Santa Cruz standout attached the near-perfect score with an additional impressive forehand ride to earn the highest heat total of the day as well, a 16.23 out of 20.

“The waves are really fun and I kind of sat off by myself a little bit,” Young said. “There are waves coming in everywhere and it’s just who gets the waves. Luckily they came to me. On that nine, it was a nice peaky one that wasn’t too closed out. I did three turns and I think it was one of the bigger waves, so that’s probably why it was a good score.”

Read more ...

Laura Enever 

Noah Lane (Rainbow Beach/Queensland) and Laura Enever (North Sydney Beaches/NSW) have won the Pro Junior Men’s and Women’s divisions of the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) Australasia Fantastic Noodles Pro Junior.

In very good three-to-four feet (1 meter) surf both surfers produced outstanding 9 point plus rides to secure today’s wins.

Laura Enever ‘s victory was one of the best of her career and has further extended her lead on the ASP Australasian Pro Junior Series Women’s ratings for 2009.

Seventeen year old Enever was staring at a big defeat at the half way stage in the final which saw Tyler Wright open with a strong 7.75 and shortly after take a commanding lead with an excellent 8.75.

Enever, with just two moderate scoring rides was requiring a combination of scores to take the lead and with just 10 minutes remaining in the 30 minute final she found an excellent wave, unleashed four major bottom to powerful top turn snaps and found herself right back in the final when she was awarded the finals top scoring ride of a 9.25.

Her task was still difficult, requiring a 7.25 to win with Wright also holding priority and by the time Enever had returned to the outside peak the final had less than 5 minutes to go.

Read more ...

Ben Bourgeois leads the USA Surf Team in the ISA World Surfing Games 

Surfing America, the National Governing Body (NGB) for Surfing in the United States, announced today the PacSun USA Surf Team for the 2009 Billabong ISA World Surfing Games that begin July 31st and run through August 8th in Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica. The U.S. side will look to improve upon last year's team silver, though they will be without defending Men's Champion, CJ Hobgood.  
Instead, the Americans will send former ASP World Tour standouts, Ben Bourgeois and Cory Lopez. With over a decade of World Tour experience between them, the injection of these two savvy veterans instantly puts the U.S. side in the middle of the championship debate. Lopez's barrel riding exploits have been well documented since leaving the Tour and both he and Benny B, who retired from World Tour competition after the 2008 campaign, are well suited to this particular wave-type.

Rounding out the PacSun USA Surf Team men's squad are Austin Ware, who is currently ranked in the Top 10 on the WQS, and Nat Young, the fifth rated Junior in North America, both of whom have proven that they can perform and turn in solid, if not winning, results against top flight competition on the world stage.  Look for all four competitors to not only deliver, but also open some eyes, in the barreling surf at Hermosa.

Read more ...