Cooper Chapman: king of the surfing groms

North Narrabeen surfer Cooper Chapman will represent Australia at the Quiksilver King of the Groms World Final in France after claiming victory in the Australian leg at Snapper Rocks on Friday.

Running in conjunction with the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Trials, Chapman joined Tyler Wright (Lennox Head) and Blake Ainsworth (Coolangatta) on the winner’s dias, defeating Torquay’s Harry Mann, Margaret River’s Creed McTaggart and Lennox Head’s Mikey Wright.

Post final, Chapman said he was buzzing after taking down some of the country’s best junior sufers.

Read more ...

Bede Durbidge: hiding from the surfing judges

With pumping three-to-five foot (1 – 2 metre) waves running down the point at Snapper Rocks today, Round 3 of the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast presented by Land Rover went off in front of a capacity crowd on the beach and hundreds of thousands watching online and FUEL TV.

The opening event of the 2010 ASP World Tour season, the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast has consolidated the greatest assemblage of surfing talent in history, and with one of the most iconic pointbreaks in the world firing throughout the day, the world’s best put on an incendiary performance.

Bede Durbidge (AUS), 27, current ASP World No. 3, proved the form surfer of the day, posting a near-perfect 19.30 out of a possible 20, to dispatch of Luke Munro (AUS), 27, in their Round 3 bout. Durbidge blended deep tube rides with progressive forehand gaffs en route to his emphatic victory, even posting the day’s highest single wave score of a 9.93 out of a possible 10.

Read more ...

River Severn: there's just one wave for all the surfers

UK surfers had the fantastic opportunity to surf the River Severn, in the second highest tide in the world. The longest ride is also a dangerous bet with trees and debris getting in the way.

In 2006, Steve King regained the Guinness World Record for Britain after surfing in the River Severn for 7.6 miles. The previous record was achieved by the Brazilian Serginho Laus, having surfed for 6.3 miles in the Araguari River (Brazil).

Read more ...