Jamie O'Brien conquers the Rip Curl Invitational at Padang Padang

It was billed as a gathering of the best tuberiders in the world at the best barrel in Bali, and the Rip Curl Cup Invitational at Padang Padang delivered as advertised.

Jamie O'Brien took home the cup in what will go down as one of the most spectacular displays of high-stakes tuberiding in the history of competitive surfing. The 26-year-old surfing sensation from the North Shore of Oahu battled through a field of 16 of Indonesia's best surfers and 16 of the world's top tube riders to meet legendary Balinese surfer and two-time Rip Curl Cup champion Made “Bol” Adi Putra in the final.

“This is right up there with my Pipe Masters and Teahupoo trials wins,” O'Brien said after being escorted from the beach to the winner's podium on the shoulders of his friends and soaked with champagne. “I got so barreled today, this was the sickest event ever.”

Hundreds of spectators packed the sands of Padang Padang beach to watch the show, as Padang pumped out perfect, smoking six-foot tubes all day long.

“It was as good as it gets today,” said two-time champ Adi Putra after the final. “This is the first time I surfed Padangthis year. I wish it was always like this.”

Read more ...

Courtney Conlogue

Courtney Conlogue (Santa Ana, CA), 16, took down the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) Grade-4 Supergirl Pro Junior today, defeating an all-star Final in challenging one-to-two foot (0.5 metre) surf in Oceanside.

Conlogue, who just last month took down the ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS) 6-Star Hurley U.S. Open of Surfing, wasted no time in today’s Final, racking up the day’s high single-wave score (a 7.40 out of a possible 10) on her opening wave with two calculated and explosive backhand maneuvers.

“The conditions were really challenging out there today and it was difficult to find scoring waves,” Conlogue said. “My first wave have a pretty good line on it and I tried to make the most of it.”

Today’s win marks the third in as many events for the young natural-footer, who took down the U.S. Open before a world amateur title in Costa Rica, further cementing Conlogue’s growing reputation as a force to be reckoned with on the international circuit.

“I’ve been putting in a lot of hard work the past couple of years and it’s really rewarding to have it pay off,” Conlogue said. “Hopefully I can just continue to improve and keep working towards my goal of qualifying for the ASP Women’s World Tour.

With a Final that included the likes of 2008 U.S. Open winner Malia Manuel (Kauai, HI), 16, top regional junior Sage Erickson (Ojai, CA), 18, and international sensation Nikita Robb (East London, ZAF), 20, Conlogue’s win was no easy feat, and the Californian was rewarded with the biggest junior women’s purse in ASP North America history, US $5,000.

”All the girls in the Final are really close and we’re all pushing each other to surf better,” Conlogue said. “It’s great that Supergirl would back junior women’s surfing with such a big prize purse and hopefully it’s the first of many.”

Read more ...

Charles Martin and Pauline Ado win the 2009 Oakley Pro Junior in France

Pauline Ado (Hendaye, FRA), 18, and Charles Martin (GLP), 18, have won the ASP Grade-2 Oakley Pro Junior today in France, respectively in the men’s and women’s division, finishing atop an international field over 150 competitors to raise the coveted trophy in front of a massive crowd.

Ado and Martin, who had to get through several heats today to reach the final encounters in their respective divisions, showed their strong abilities in the tricky two foot (0.5 meter) waves on offer to oust event favorites en route to victory.

Martin, who is considered one of the best European surfers of the new generation coming out of France, claimed his second ASP Pro Junior title at Lacanau, where he was a runner-up in 2008. Facing other favorites Joan Duru (Ondres, FRA), 19, and Wiggoly Dantas (BRA), 19, as well as Oakley rider and underdog Tom Cloarec (Capbreton, FRA), 15, Martin kept his unstoppable form throughout the 30-minute decider.

“Winning this event is exactly what I wanted coming here,” Martin said. “I haven’t won an event in a year and the Oakley Pro Junior was a main goal for me this year as it puts me back in the ratings’ race and gives me that ticket for the Oakley Global challenge.”

Martin, whose win today rockets him to No. 4 on the ASP European Junior ratings, will be a favorite when he heads back to Hossegor for the next event and tries and confirm his favorite status.

Read more ...