Professional Windsurfers Association

The New Year is upon us and with it comes the start of a new season. 2009 was made more difficult than it should have been by current worldwide economic circumstances, but with that taken into consideration, it was a reasonably successful year.

Although we do find ourselves facing similar circumstances for the year ahead, we are already starting to see signs of increased investment and new events being brought to the tour.

There have also been a few significant changes made since last season, that will affect many of you, but these are all positive and will help to bring increased prosperity to the tour.

As agreed at the Sylt AGM, men's Slalom Prize Money, at single discipline Slalom events has been raised by €10,000 to €40,000. This change has no come into effect and we have already secured the additional funding for both the Korean and Costa Brava events.

As part of this raise, prize money will now be split amongst the top 24 at events with the increased prize fund.

Read more ...

29th Singapore Windsurfing Open

Light winds greeted competitions of the SIM 29th Singapore Open on the third and final day of the race.

The 10-25 knots wind forecast for the day never came and only two races were ran in the RS:X, Techno 293, IMCO and Raceboard classes.

In the RS:X class, it was a close fight between South Korean’s Kwon Ohhan (KOR 82) and Philippines’ Reneric Moreno (PHI 76). Kwon beat Reneric by 3 points after a 11 races and 2 discards while Singapore’s Joshua Choo took third position.

It was an equally close fight in the Techno 293 Boys and Girls classes. In the Techno 293 (Boy) class, Korea’s Kim Chaneui (7) denied Thailand’s Kitpatchai (THA 25) the overall win with a mere one point lead over Kim while in the Techno 293 (Girl) Class, Thailand’s Sarocha Promprai (THA 55) was tied with teammate Paphawadee (THA 56) at 12 points but took first position.

Singapore’s Amanda Ng (SIN 15) beat Asian Youth Games Bronze Medalist Audrey Yong (SIN 11) to take home the third prize.

In the Formula class, Philippines’ Geylord Coveta was unrivalled, clinching top position after 5 straight wins. Lying in second place is Singapore’s Goh Thye Hock while Great Britain’s Christopher Newman came in third.

Peter Volwater

Peter Volwater won the 2010 Lancelin Ocean Classic, held in Western Australia.

The winner completed the longest running windsurfing event in Australia in 27m58s.

Patrik Diethelm was second with 28m11s and Steve Allen got third with a total time of 28m34s.

In the Women's windsurfing marathon, Karin Jaggi was the best. She completed the 2010 Lancelin Ocean Classic in 34m52.

Annika Gillgren was second, followed by Kanza Stott.

The event was held in excellent conditions. Wind and swell have really hit Lancelin.

Read more ...