2010 Cancun Midwinters

After three days of stiff competition, the first edition of the Cancun Midwinters has come to a close. Many thanks to the sponsors, volunteers and supporters of this annual event with big ambitions.

Local heroes Demita Vega and David Mier y Teran dominated the RS:X Class racing. They will now represent Mexico at the Caribbean and Central American Regional Games in Mayagüez, Puerto Rico from July 17 to August 1, 2010.

The Bic Techno 293 Class is growing strongly in Mexico. In the U17, Yucatec Diego Ojeda lead the charge followed by Berenguer Ignacio Quintana Roo who both performed well in the boys fleet. Over in the Girls, Diana Valera and Yucateca Regina Rodriguez showed promise but it was Diana James from the island of the swallows took the championship followed by Regina Rodriguez Yucatan.

Read more ...

Andraz Zan

Slovenian freestyler, Andraz Zan (RRD, RRD), will be riding on all RRD gear for 2010.

The stylish Italian windsurfing brand known mainly for their boards, look set to take on the sail manufacturers, and are therefore putting together a team of PWA hotshots, which includes Zan.

Zan commented:

“After a successful year in 2009, I’m getting ready for the upcoming competition season. At the moment I’m in Cape Town, training for freestyle on the lake and catching some waves at the local spots.

I will start the new season exclusively on RRD, and I’m very happy to be part of the full RRD family. The move has given me plenty of motivation for the season ahead, and I look forward to the first PWA tour stop.

Read more ...

Speed World Cup

The rules for the 2010 Speed World Cup season are out. There have been only a few small amendmends, which are:

For the windsurfers, the points awarded depend mainly on the price money now, with some small addition given for continentals, worlds, and if there is provisional timing available. The spread between national event and world championship events has become larger, to give more importance to the world events with the top comptitors attending.

Only the best three events of each competitors will count towards the overall world cup ranking, constituting the "Overall World Cup Winner".

Read more ...