Windsurfing Estonia 

The event called Aloha Surf Aegna Marathon will kick off on the 8th of august on Pirita beach, Tallinn. There will be 2 possible distances: long and short. The marathon distance covers about 25 km. Competition is organized for all windsurfing fans and not just for Pro's.

Aegna Marathon is a legendary competition. In 2009 it will be organized for the 21st time, the tradition started in 1988. Last year there were over 100 participants and this year organizers are hoping the number will even raise. The maximum number of participants has been almost 300.

Organizers are welcoming all fans to attend. The participation number changes due to the wind conditions. Not every surf fan is ready to test themselves with the low winds as below 2m/s, like it was happeining in year 2008.

Registration for the competition will start on Saturday morning at 9.00 o'clock and will stop at 11 sharp. The competition will start at 12.00. There are no limits or regulations for the gear #8211; everybody can pick their boards and sails as they see it best. The results will be differentiated between the boards: until 120L, over 120L, centreboards & formula. There will be a lottery between all the participants and the prize is 1 week usage of Toyota Avensis.

Read more ...

Marta Hlavaty 

Prizes have been awarded. At the end of the fourth day of the regatta, winners entered the podium to be congratulated, as well as receive cups and cheques.

After a short, but full of positive emotions closing ceremony, Stereo MC’s band appeared on the stage followed by an exhilarating performance by Kosheen.

The winner in men’s classification was an Australia Steve Allen, who has taken this award for the fifth time.

Thus, he confirmed that he is in great condition.

Among women, the best was Marta Hlavaty (POL 11) from Poland.

Read more ...

Finian Maynard 

A spectacular event came to an end today with the price giving held directly at the beach in front of the Pro Center Chris Schill. Finian Maynard (BVI) and Valerie Ghibaudo (FRA, Loft Sails) are the world champions 2009.

After 7 rounds of speedsailing action, giving two discards for the fleet from all over the world, Karpathos proved another time to be the perfect venue for high wind windsurfing.

The event opened with an early skippersmeeting to get used of the day with the best forecast of the whole week, and the race committee sent the fleet out to the first race at 9:00. Finian Maynard proved from the first moment that he is back and got his first bullet of the event.

The second round, again consisting of a silver and gold fleet leg commenced in the afternoon, and still the sailors were not released. The race committee went for a full fleet start late in the afternoon and sent out all 50 riders from 16 nations on the water. The second bullet for Maynard, and a spectacular scenery for the spectators on the beach.

Read more ...