Brazilian Freestyle Windsurfing Championship 2008 

Edvan Souza (Jericoacoara) was the champion of the World Freestyle Windsurfing championship, held today 23 December, on the beach of Icaraí de Amontada. In the great final, Edvan focused on maneuvers and established her great phase, winning the most important championship for your career. Edvan won all rounds for the 1st stage (single) of the championship, devolting himself with competence and waiting to beat his adversaries at the grand finale.

At recap (Double elimination), the favorite was Ian Mouro (Jericoacoara), professional athlete of the World Circuit, held incredible maneuvers, beating each opponent, up to the challenge with Edvan Souza. According to the president of the International Windsurfing Association - IWA, Bruno Wannamaker, "Edvan could won the title at 1 confrontation with his adversary Ian , but his biggest rival, Ian, had a impeccable and perfect round, worthy of world champion, cheering up the audience and going to a new final with Edvan, "analyzed Bruno.

In the female division, Spanish girl Vicky Sanchez, who had the best results at the first day, was consecrated as the best of the year, winning all rounds. The locals sailors Thereza Silva (Jijoca) and Tainã Fernandes (Jericoacoara) finished the championship at the 2nd and 3rd positions respectively.

The emotions of the World Freestyle Windsurfing Championship had the support of the Federal Government, through the Ministry of Tourism, Government of Ceará State, through the Department of Sports and City of Amontada. The event was sponsored by Arrow Marketing.


 Alice Arutkin

Alice Arutkin and Philip Köster are awarded the prestigious 2008 PWA Rookie of the Year titles.
Unveiling one of the most prestigious accolades to be awarded by the PWA, Jimmy Diaz, the association’s President has formally awarded the 2008 Rookie of the year awards to Alice Arutkin (Starboard, North Sails) and Philip Köster (Starboard, NeilPryde). This time-honored tradition recognizes outstanding achievement by newcomers to the Professional Windsurfers Association.
Jimmy Diaz personally wrote the official citations for both athletes:
Alice Arutkin:
“Your commitment and dedication to competition this year has been admirable and your performance, particularly in the Slalom discipline, has been exceptional for a young sailor, especially when you take into account the level of competition you were up against. To do so well whilst also putting in a strong performance in the Wave discipline is to be congratulated!”

Philip Köster:
“Through your performances on tour this year, you have displayed not only incredible natural talent, but also incredible courage and confidence in tough conditions. To find these attributes in such a young sailor is unusual to say the least, but to find them in someone so unassuming and courteous is a true testament to your character.”


Nicolas Le Gal 

The prestigious Sail Melbourne regatta, part of the ISAF Sailing World Cup, has concluded with New Zealanders claiming podium finishes in nearly every class entered, as well as a number of top ten successes.

Andrew Brown won the International Moth division, winning three races. He was three points ahead of second placegetter Robert Gough of Australia.

Mike Bullot placed second in the Laser Full Rig class, after two wins in the eleven race series. The division was won by Matias Del Solar of Chile. David Weaver and Max Andrews of New Zealand placed seventh and eigth in the 39-strong fleet.

In the RS:X Men’s boardsailing class, Antonio Cozzolino placed second, two points behind the Frenchman Nicholas Le Gal. Antonio won four of the eleven races during the regatta.

Kate Ellingham placed third behind Blanca Manchon of Spain and Jessica Crisp of Australia in the women’s division, and Benjamin Mackay was fifth in the RS:X Youth class.

Three New Zealanders in the top five in the Laser Radial Men’s – Tim Coltman was third, Josh Porebski Fourth, and Jackson Macfarlane was fifth. Sara Winther placed sixth in the Laser Radial Women’s division. She was set up on points for a third placing but an OCS in the final race cost her the podium finish. Team-mate Rachel Basevi placed ninth.

17 year old New Zealand disabled sailor Joshua McKenzie-Brown was third in the 2.4m class, and David McDiarmid and Andrew Archibald placed third in the 49er class despite missing four races.

“Kiwi sailors have preformed creditably at this event on whole… the performance is on par with our expectation and in some cases has exceeded it,” says Yachting New Zealand’s High Performance & Youth Director Martin Watson.

Laser Coach Clifton Webb says of Mike Bullot’s second placing, “The objectives were simply to get some much needed race practice after a bit of a break late in 2008. So far so good, everything seems to be on track, however there is a long road ahead to the World Championships next year.”