Windsurfing marathons: long and exhausting

The Port Phillip Downwinder is making an attempt for the longest windsurfing race in the world.

The windsurfing event will be held in Melbourne's scenic Port Phillip Bay, and aims to enter the Guinness World Records, on the weekend of the 8th-9th February, 2014.

Windsurfers from around the state will descend on Victoria's beaches to prove their abilities in the Port Phillip Downwinder, a challenging 30-kilometer windsurfing endurance race.


JP Surf4You Slalom Cup 2014: as tight as it can be

South Korea's Kim Hyung Kwon has conquered the JP Surf4You Slalom Cup 2014, in Vietnam.

Hailed as the the biggest windsurfing race in Southeast Asia, the JP Surf4You Slalom Cup attracted 40 windsurfers from Korea, Russia, Denmark and Vietnam.

A total of 15 races were run during the day. There were competition in three different categories: Pro, Amateurs and Children.


Vargas Beach: wind paradise in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

The authorities of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria have proceeded to the closure of Vargas Beach, one of the best windsurfing and kiteboarding spots in the world.

Vargas Beach has been abandoned and forgotten by the governments for decades, but has been used by windsurfers for over 40 years. It is one of the most important spots in the island due to its conditions.

An ample beach, multiple wind and waves for beginners, advance or even professional windsurfers and kiteboarders. In fact, Vargas Beach and Pozo Izquierdo are the only spots available in the region for windsports enthusiasts.