Windsurfer One Design | Photos: Michael McGrath 

It’s never really been out of use in Australia. The Australian manufacturer of the Windsurfer One Design (Windgenuity, Sydney) reports interest from Italy & USA.

 In the latest issue of Windsurfing (US), Winter 2009 (Aug), p46 states: The Original Windsurfer was the board that started it all – and now you may be able to by one. Ted Schweitzer, son of Original Windsurfer founders Hoyle and Diane Schweitzer, has plans to reintroduce the board to the US market. “I can’t believe how many people have expressed interest in ordering, sight and price unseen”, says Schweitzer.

Some of us can remember sailing the original craft – dacron sails, teak (square-ish to rounded) booms, and manual adjust centerboard. Following the Perth worlds in 1985, a new board was introduced, and it’s still in production today. The new board has a shorter aluminium boom, retractable centreboard and mylar sail.

1985 marks the beginning of the funboard era. About that time, alternative boards began to move into the Australian market. The longboard era lasted into the early 2000’s when Formula Windsurfing took over. Longboards, and the Windsurfer one-design are making a comeback as the noughties close.


Winners of the 2009 Baltic NeilPryde Cup 

There was no doubt that Martin Ervin (EST-202) would win the overall NeilPryde Baltic Cup 2009, as he had won all 3 previous competitions earlier this season. The NPC 2009 final event started with lack of wind and ended with mixed weather conditions.

Friday was supposed to be the first race day, closed in the evening with no races held. There just wasn't enough wind to get the race started – even not for Raceboards.

On Saturday morning the weather was bit better but far from an ideal conditions for windsurfing. First start was cancelled due to turning and choppy wind. Luckily there was possibility to hold 2 races for Formulas and 2 for Raceboards before the rain ended the race day.

On Saturday both of Raceboard races was won by Juha Blinnikka (FIN-6) from Finland. Results from 2 Formula races left Martin Ervin (EST-202) and Toomas Mölder (EST-44) equal with 1 win and 1 second place in both's records.

The last day of the event did not do any better on weather side. One moment it was nice 5 m/s wind in the starting line and at the next it was not enough to fill the minimum requirements.

The sky was cloudy but for some time we got some sunshine, until the rain clouds appeared and the gusty wind started to blow. It stopped soon and dropped to below minimum. Because of the tricky wind Raceboards were able to get 3 and Formulas just 1 race.

The results for the NeilPryde Baltic Cup 2009 final event and the overall are:

28-30.08.2009 NPC Tallinn event winners are:
Formula Open fleet -  Martin Ervin (EST-202)
Formula Master - Martin Ervin (EST-202)
Formula Women - Maarja Niinemets (EST-84)
Formula Juniors -  Andrius Sliuburys (LTU-153)
Formula Youth -  Rihards Akmentins (LAT-30)
Raceboard -  Juha Blinnikka (FIN-6)
Raceboard womens -  Ilona Grinberga (LAT-18)
Techno 293  U17 - Peeter Kask (EST-152)
Techno 293  U15 - Karl Erik Saarm (EST-229)

NeilPryde Baltic Cup 2009 Overall winners are:
Formula Open fleet - Martin Ervin (EST-202)
Formula Master - Martin Ervin (EST-202)
Formula Women - Maarja Niinemets (EST-84)
Formula Juniors -  Andrius Sliuburys (LTU-153)
Formula Youth -  John Kaju (EST-24)

In this weekends competition there were no match against 2009 Formula Masters World Champion Martin Ervin (EST-202). The Open fleet first three places were owned by Masters.

First place went to Martin Ervin, 2nd place went to Toomas Mölder (EST-44) and 3rd was Ansis Dale (LAT-13), who has won this competition in the past for three times.

This was no surprise that Martin took also the overall first place in NPC series as he has won all 2009 NPC competitions. The second place was again to Toomas Mölder (EST-44).

The third place went to last three consecutive year's NPC winner Janis Preiss (LAT-23), who entered the competition on the second day. He got lucky as the first day was lacking wind he was not punished with (DNS) points.

NeilPryde Baltic Cup final competition was difficult as constantly changing weather conditions tested participants for variable skills.

Baltic NeilPryde Sea Cup 2009 

The second race day started as planned with 11 o'clock skipper's meeting. By the first start the wind speed was 4,5 m/s and the competition got started.

The first ones to hit the water were the Raceboards and soon after Formulas went out too.

Due to the wind turning the first start was cancelled. Same time there were also sailing competitions taking place so there was a lot of action happening on the sea.

Martin Ervin (EST-202) who has won all the three competition series of NeilPryde Baltic Cup 2009 won also the first race today. During the second race wind was calming down. Fortunately both Formulas and Raceboards could finish the race. Around four o'clock rain interrupted the competition and ended the day.

Even though there were only two races held the day was emotional, changing weather conditions and gusty wind put competitors skills to the test. After the 2 races for both Formulas and Raceboards the results are as follows:

1.-2. Martin Ervin (EST-202)
1.-2. Toomas Mölder (EST-44)
3. Ansis Dale (LAT-13)

1. Juha Blinnikka (FIN-6)
2. Gunars Rozenbergs (LAT-1)
3. Alvis Ozolins (LAT-20)