Taranaki Wave Classic 2009

Each year like clockwork the warm up day Friday produced some amazing down the line wavesailing. A clean logo to mast high swell rolling three hundred metres down the perfect reef break that is called Pungarahu.

Today provided a great chance for out of town competitors for the Taranaki Wave Classic 09 to get into the swing of riding the world class waves of Taranaki coastline. Pungarahu was producing the goods with riders getting upwards of 10 turns on each wave.

I have not seen so many buzzing smiling people since last Taranaki Wave Classic. Quotes like "Best wave of my life", "Best ever" and "arrrrr I hate rocks".

The local guys were really showing their experience out on the break. James Dinnis the MC and judge for the competition was throwing huge turns and showing people what the judges like to see.

Mike La Franchie, Paul Barron and Chris La Franchie were showing why they have been at the top of the TWC honours board in the last few years. They were displaying committed sailing and not holding back. Other outstanding sailors were Dirk Schmit, Charles Dinnis, Bikki, Alex (New Caledonia) and Garry McCorry.

Lucky there are a few spot prizes of sails because the unforgiving rocks laid claim to demolishing a fair bit of gear.

The forecast for the next couple days is looking less promising.

We have good amounts of clean swell. Just the wind is quite light. Fingers crossed!

2009 Sao Paulo Formula Windsurfing Grand Prix

Day 2 of the 2009 Sao Paulo Formula Windsurfing Grand Prix began with a mega thunderstorm, lashings of rain, followed by a strong easterly wind gusting 30>35 knots!

By the time the skippers meeting took place the wind had dropped to almost nothing - the calm after the storm. After a short delay the wind appeared to be increasing again from the east and the sailors were called out to the starting area - north of the launching beach.

It did not look promising - and the race officer sent the fleet back to the beach. Almost immeadiatelty sailors were planing back to the beach - but on a wind coming from the south.!

The wind continued to build and it stayed with us - a sunny and windy afternoon. The course was reset and this time it was a reach out to the start. The course was parrallel to the beach, making easy viewing - and 4 good races were completed in near perfect conditions.

With two bullets and a second place each Alberto Menegatti (ITA4 ) and Ross Williams (GBR83) tied on 4 points after 4 races and one discard - but Ross emerged on top with the better discarded race.

Read more ...

Josh Angulo

Josh Angulo (Angulo, MauiSails, DaKine), who has just clinched the 2009 PWA wave title, is running a series of wave sailing clinics this winter on his home island of Sal, Cape Verde. 

There is no person on the planet who is better qualified to be your instructor and guide in Cape Verde. Josh needs no introduction. He is one of the names engrained into the history of our sport through his tremendous talent and passion. Josh has made Sal his home for years and has an intimate knowledge of the island and its secrets. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to train with the elite at the best winter wavesailing spot in the world.

A clinic will give you 6 days of group, individual and video coaching with Josh for 5 hours per day. Josh and his team will take you, your kit and your lunch to the best locations on the island according to the daily conditions and the requirements of the group.

The skills covered will depend on individual requirements and level. But considering you will be learning from the best, expect tuition on bottom turns, top turns, aerials, and more advanced wave moves. You never know, you may be charging hard and pulling off slick one handed aerials 'a la' Josh once he's finished with you!

Read more ...